West Virginia Car Insurance Laws—All You Need to Know

Find out if you’re getting ripped off on your car insurance in less than two minutes.
No long forms · No spam · No fees
West Virginia law mandates all drivers to have liability insurance. The state-mandated limits for minimum liability coverage in West Virginia follow a 25/50/25 pattern: $25,000 in bodily injury coverage per person, $50,000 in bodily injury coverage per accident, and $25,000 in property damage coverage per accident.
Since West Virginia only requires liability coverage, you should look into additional forms of car insurance coverage to make sure you are amply insured for driving in West Virginia.
If you’re feeling overwhelmed about finding car insurance for a reasonable price in West Virginia, don’t panic! Jerry can help. Jerry is a car insurance comparison and broker app that lets you browse through customized car insurance quotes online so you can quickly and easily find and purchase the cheapest car insurance on the market—without sacrificing good coverage.
And with that, here’s all you need to know about car insurance mandates in West Virginia.
RECOMMENDED
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms · No fees, ever

Car insurance requirements in West Virginia

This is a brief summary of the minimum car insurance limits for West Virginia:
**Minimum liability coverage****25/50/25**
Bodily injury per accident$25,000
Bodily injury per person$50,000
Property damage per accident$25,000
Key Takeaway West Virginia drivers must hold liability coverage following a 25/50/25 pattern.

What is liability coverage?

Liability coverage covers the medical expenses and property damage of others when you are at fault in an accident.
This might include expenses like another driver’s hospital bills or repairs for a dented car door. Liability coverage does not cover your own medical expenses or property damages.

State-mandated limits for liability coverage in West Virginia

The state-mandated limits for bodily injury liability in West Virginia are $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident.
This means that if you cause a collision where a person is injured, that person may recover up to $25,000 from your provider for medical fees and the like. If you injure two or more persons, your provider will pay out up to $50,000 total.
The state-mandated limit for property damage in West Virginia is $25,000 per accident.
In sum, the limits for liability coverage in West Virginia are typically summed up in the pattern 25/50/25 for bodily injury per person, bodily injury per accident, and property damage per accident, respectively.
These are the minimum limits in West Virginia, which means that you can purchase higher liability limits if you want. For instance, you could buy liability insurance adhering to a 50/100/50 pattern, which would mean you would have $50,000 bodily injury coverage per person, $100,000 bodily injury coverage per accident, and $50,000 property damage coverage per accident.
Key Takeaway All West Virginia drivers must have liability coverage following a 25/50/25 pattern: $25,000 in bodily injury coverage per person, $50,000 in bodily injury coverage per accident, and $25,000 in property damage coverage per accident.

West Virginia is an at-fault state

West Virginia is an at-fault—or "tort"—state, which means that insurance providers assign fault for collisions to one or more drivers. The at-fault drivers are liable for the damages and medical costs related to the accident.
So, if you cause a collision in West Virginia, expect that you will be held completely liable for any expenses resulting from that accident—whether they be medical bills or property damage costs.
This is an important factor to consider when purchasing liability limits because you’ll probably want to buy the highest limits you can reasonably afford in order to protect yourself in the unfortunate case that you ever cause an accident.

Do West Virginia’s required insurance minimums provide enough coverage?

West Virginia only requires liability insurance, making its requirements on par with other states, but liability coverage alone might not cover your own medical expenses or property damage when you cause an accident.
To make sure you are fully covered, you’ll need MedPay or Personal Injury Protection (PIP) for medical costs. You might also consider collision coverage for your own property damage costs.
West Virginia’s mandated minimums for liability coverage are also not necessarily adequate—for instance, a $50,000 bodily injury liability limit can be very quickly exceeded if you cause a collision that injures more than two or three people.
You are best off purchasing higher limits for your liability insurance (for instance, you could purchase liability limits that follow a 50/100/50 pattern).

Penalties for driving without insurance in West Virginia

Driving without proof of insurance is illegal in West Virginia and you could face penalties such as license suspensions and fees.
Here are the penalties for driving without proof of insurance in West Virginia:
  • License suspension (30 days for the first offense, 90 days for subsequent offenses)
  • Registration suspension
  • $50 license reinstatement fee
  • $100 registration reinstatement fee
  • $200 penalty
  • SR-22 filing
Key Takeaway Driving without proof of insurance is illegal in West Virginia, and penalties range from fines and fees to license and registration suspensions.

Optional auto insurance coverage in West Virginia

On top of purchasing higher limits for your liability coverage in West Virginia, it’s a good idea to look into additional forms of car insurance coverage:
  • Uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage: Uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage covers your own medical expenses if you are the victim of a collision with an at-fault driver who doesn’t have insurance.
  • Personal Injury Protection (PIP): Personal Injury Protection (PIP) provides coverage for you and your passengers if you are injured in a car accident.
  • Comprehensive coverage: Comprehensive coverage can cover the costs of physical damages to your vehicle that are not the result of a collision (such as vandalism).
  • Collision coverage: Collision coverage can help you cover the cost of repairs for your vehicle after a collision with another vehicle or fixed object.
  • Medical payments (MedPay) insurance: MedPay covers the cost of medical bills or funeral expenses that are the result of a collision.
  • Roadside assistance: Roadside assistance helps with things like fixing flats, towing, or jumping batteries. The type of coverage will vary among policies and companies.
  • Rental car reimbursement: Rental car reimbursement will cover the cost of a rental vehicle if you are unable to drive your car.

Where to buy car insurance in West Virginia

If you’re looking to buy car insurance in West Virginia, look no further than Jerry. Jerry is a cheap car insurance comparison and broker app that is dedicated to finding you the lowest rates on car insurance—with absolutely no cost to you (yes, that means it’s 100% free to use!).
All you have to do is spend less than a minute putting in your information, then browse through customized quotes from up to 50 insurance providers. And, once you decide on a policy, you can purchase in-app—Jerry will do all the calls and paperwork for you, and even do all the work to help you cancel your old policy if you are switching over!
This ultra-easy process is why customers are so happy with Jerry’s services:
"I have no clue how they did it, but Jerry just about cut my rate in half with the same provider (Progressive) and the same coverage. I even went through the new policy after it was finalized to make sure all the coverage was the same and the deductibles were the same. I still can’t believe it. The app takes about 20 minutes to get your finalized quotes and their agents handle purchasing your new policy once you give them the go-ahead. Super easy process. I highly recommend this app." — Satisfied Jerry user
RECOMMENDED
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms · No fees, ever

FAQs

Does West Virginia require car insurance?

Yes. All West Virginia drivers must have liability coverage following a 25/50/25 pattern: $25,000 in bodily injury coverage per person, $50,000 in bodily injury coverage per accident, and $25,000 in property damage coverage per accident.
There are various penalties for driving without car insurance in West Virginia, including fines, fees, and license and registration suspension.

How long can you go without car insurance in West Virginia?

Driving without car insurance is illegal in West Virginia, and there are penalties even for a lapse in car insurance. The penalty for a car insurance lapse in West Virginia is a registration reinstatement fee of $100.
RECOMMENDED
Haven’t shopped for insurance in the last six months? There might be hundreds $$$ in savings waiting for you.
Judith switched to Progressive
icon savingsSaved $725 annually
Alexander switched to Travelers
icon savingsSaved $834 annually
Annie switched to Nationwide
icon savingsSaved $668 annually

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

√
No long forms
√
No spam or unwanted phone calls
√
Quotes from top insurance companies
Find insurance savings — it's 100% free