Virginia Car Seat Law

Find out if you’re getting ripped off on your car insurance in less than two minutes.
No long forms · No spam · No fees
  • What is it?
  • Non compliance
  • Driving record
  • Insurance
  • Cheap insurance
Virginia car seat laws require that children under the age of seven must use an appropriate child restraint system. They must be rear-facing until the age of two, or they surpass the manufacturer guidelines.
Breaking car seat laws could earn you fines, along with putting young passengers in danger.
That’s why the car insurance broker and comparison shopping app Jerry has compiled everything you need to know to adhere to the car seat laws in Virginia.
RECOMMENDED
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms · No fees, ever

What is the car seat law in Virginia?

Children 7 years old or younger must use a federally approved child restraint system, and children under 2 must be rear-facing.
Virginia child car seat laws say that drivers should adhere to manufacturer guidelines. There are only legal requirements based on age, not height or weight. It’s best to default to the instructions on your booster seat.
Key Takeaway Children under the age of eight need to ride in a federally approved child restraint system, and kids under 2 must be rear-facing in Virginia.

What are the penalties for breaking the car seat law in Virginia?

It’s considered a secondary infraction to break the car seat law in Virginia. You will be charged a $50 fine if you violate this law.
Key Takeaway Breaking the child car seat law in Virginia will earn you a $50 fine.

Can breaking the car seat law impact my driving record?

You will not get points added to your record if you break the Virginia car seat laws.
RECOMMENDED
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms · No fees, ever

How breaking car seat laws can impact insurance in Virginia

A ticket for breaking the Virginia child car seat laws will not result in a point on your record.
However, if you do not pay your fees immediately, it could negatively impact your credit score. In Virginia, car insurance companies are allowed to consider your credit score when calculating your premium.
If your credit score dips lower, there’s a good chance your car insurance payment will increase.

Finding cheap car insurance

If you’re shopping for car insurance, Jerry will generate competitive quotes from top providers in less than a minute. Jerry gathers your information from your past insurer, so you’re not responsible for any long forms or phone calls.
Basically, you get all of the savings and coverage, with none of the hassle. Signup takes less than 45 seconds and the average driver saves $879 a year on car insurance!
“Using Jerry felt a lot like texting a smart friend who knows a lot about car insurance.”—Satisfied Jerry User
RECOMMENDED
Haven’t shopped for insurance in the last six months? There might be hundreds $$$ in savings waiting for you.
avatar
Judith switched to Progressive
icon savingsSaved $725 annually
avatar
Alexander switched to Travelers
icon savingsSaved $834 annually
avatar
Annie switched to Nationwide
icon savingsSaved $668 annually

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

√
No long forms
√
No spam or unwanted phone calls
√
Quotes from top insurance companies
Find insurance savings — it's 100% free