How to Get a Vermont Learners Permit

You’re eligible to get a Vermont learners permit once you turn 15—but don’t roll up to the DMV office to apply without reading our guide.
Written by Jason Tushinski
Reviewed by Amy Bobinger
, you are eligible to apply for your learner’s permit—the first step in Vermont’s Graduated License program—once you turn 15 years of age. You’ll need to pass an online test and pay a fee before you’ll be issued a Vermont learner’s permit.
  • You must be at least 15 years old to get your Vermont learner’s permit.
  • You can apply for your learner’s permit and take your written knowledge test online.
  • You’ll still need to have a parents or guardian signature, your social security number, proof of identity, and proof of residency if you apply online.

How to get a Vermont learner’s permit

You’ll need to be at least 15 years of age before you can apply for your Vermont learner’s permit. And with today’s technology, you won’t even have to march down to your local Vermont DMV office—you can apply for your learner’s permit online!
Now, before you do anything, you’ll want to make sure you know the rules of the road—study the
Vermont Driver’s Manual
as thoroughly as you can before applying for a learner’s permit. Once you know that manual cover-to-cover (because we know you’re a keener), all applicants must fill out form
, or Vermont’s learner’s permit application. If you’re between 15 and 17 years old, a parent or guardian must sign the form for you (unless you’re emancipated) before you can take the learner’s permit test.
If you’re under 18 years of age, you’ll need to have a clean record for two years prior in order to apply for your learner’s permit. If you have any recalls, suspensions, or revocations on your record, you’ll need to contact your DMV branch as you may have to serve an additional waiting time before applying.
Once your learner’s permit form is filled out, head online to take your
Vermont learner’s permit test
, and pay the $20 fee. Upon passing the online learner’s permit test and receipt of your payment, your receipt will act as your learner's permit—you will not be mailed one. Your receipt/learner’s permit must remain with you in your vehicle whenever you drive.

Documents you may need when applying

Even though you’ll apply for a Vermont learner’s permit online, you will have to prove your identity and state residency. Have these documents handy, if applicable, when applying:
  • Name, date of birth, place of birth
  • Social Security Number (SSN card or your W-2 form)
  • Two pieces of mail from your place of residency to demonstrate your Vermont residency
  • Proof of U.S. citizenship
MORE: How education level affects car insurance
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms
Find insurance savings

Vermont learner’s permit regulations

There are rules you’ll have to follow when you hold a Vermont learner’s permit—unfortunately, this means you’ll have to wait before embarking on that solo Vermont-to-California road trip you’ve been itching to do. 
Vermont law states a driver with a learner’s permit can drive anywhere and at anytime in Vermont so long as they abide by the following rules:
  • A licensed and unimpaired parent or guardian is present in the front passenger seat
  • A licensed and unimpaired driver’s instructor is present in the front passenger seat
  • A licensed and unimpaired person 25 years or older is present in the front passenger seat

Applying for a Junior Driver’s License

You must hold your Vermont learner’s permit for one year before taking a road test for a Vermont Junior Driver’ License, the second step in Vermont’s
Graduated License
program. But in order to be eligible for your Junior Driver’s License road test, you’ll have to complete the following:
  • 40 hours of supervised practice driving, 10 of which must be done at night
  • You must submit proof of completing this practice time to the DMV before applying for a Junior Driver’s License
Once you apply for and Junior Driver’s License and pass the road test, you’re required to abide by the following rules:
  • Only driving alone or with a licensed and unimpaired parent, guardian, driving instructor, or person over 25 years of age for the first 3 months of holding a Junior Driver’s License
  • If driving with the appropriate supervision, you can carry as many extra passengers as there are seatbelts in the vehicle
  • For the second 3 months of holding a Junior Driver’s License, you’ll be able to drive immediate family members (siblings) in your vehicle
  • After 6 months of holding a Junior Driver’s License, there are no passenger restrictions
Keep in mind, a Vermont Junior Driver’s License is provisional, meaning it can be recalled in the following circumstances:
  • Carrying passengers for hire (90 day recall)
  • Driving for work purposes (90 day recall)
  • Based on the recommendation from the Diversion/Reparative Board (30 day recall)
  • Any points accumulated (for a single 3 point violation, or 6 points in total—90 day recall)
  • A passenger age violation (90 day recall)
  • A passenger restriction infraction (90 day recall)
You’ll be able to apply for your full Vermont driver’s license when you are 18 years old, so long as there are no recalls, suspensions, or revocations on your driving record in the preceding six months.
“I’m young and just got my first car, so choosing an insurance company for the first time was scary. My friend recommended this app to me and
made everything simple! I put in my info and got something more affordable than what I expected for my age!” —Leslie T.
Thousands of customers saved on average $887/year on their car insurance with Jerry
This app is great, but the customer service is even better! Not to mention convenient! My husband and I got the lowest rate (much lower than the rates I was finding online through my own searches), quickly, and pretty much all through text message! Thank you so much for a hassle free experience👍
Gabriella R.
Find insurance savings
rating primary
4.7/5 Rating on App Store
Are you overpaying for car insurance?
Compare quotes and find out in 45 seconds.
Try Jerry

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

No long forms
No spam or unwanted phone calls
Quotes from top insurance companies
Find insurance savings