Services
Insurance
Loans
Repairs
Advice
About
background

What is the Driving Age in Vermont?

Find out if you're getting ripped off on your car insurance in less than two minutes.
No long forms · No spam · No fees
Mariza Morin
· 5 min read
Novice drivers under 18 years old in Vermont are subject to abiding by the state’s Graduated License laws. These laws allow young drivers at least 15 years old to gradually work their way toward earning a full driver’s license in stages by the age of 18.
There’s nothing more exhilarating as a teenager than learning how to drive for the first time. But the legal driving age varies from state to state and you must learn the rules of the road before you venture off into the world. To help you start your journey,
Jerry
, the
car insurance
comparison super app, has created this guide on how to obtain your learner’s permit and junior driver’s license in the Green Mountain State. As a bonus, we'll throw in a tip for how to reduce your
Vermont car insurance costs
!

What is the driving age in Vermont?

In Vermont, the minimum driving age is 15 years old for a learner’s permit. But to obtain a full driver’s license in the state, you must be 18 years old

What are the Graduated License laws in Vermont?

Along with many other states, Vermont requires teen drivers under 18 years old to follow Graduated License laws before receiving a full driver’s license. These laws were put in place to help young drivers learn how to drive safely in phases while preventing the high number of teen car crashes — which is the
second leading cause of death
among this demographic. 
Generally, most Graduated License laws include three stages:
  • Learner’s permit stage: Supervised driving
  • Junior driver’s license stage: Limited unsupervised driving
  • Full license stage: Unrestricted standard driver’s license
Are you overpaying for your car insurance?
Compare quotes and find out in 45 seconds.
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms · No fees
icon4.717k Ratings
5M+Drivers Joined
7M+Cars Garaged

How to get your learner’s permit in Vermont

If you’re a young driver under 18 years old, you must comply with Vermont’s Graduated License laws through the Vermont Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) to progressively work your way toward receiving an unrestricted driver’s license. But before you stop by your
local DMV location
, you have to gather all the required documents to apply for your learner’s permit. 
Here are the requirements to receive a learner’s permit in Vermont:
After you pass all your required tests and provide all the necessary documents, you’ll be issued your learner’s permit

Learner’s permit restrictions

With a valid Vermont learner’s permit, you can drive anytime as long as you have a licensed parent or guardian, certified driver education instructor, or a licensed adult over 25 years old in the front seat with you. But you may not under any circumstances drive alone!

How to get your junior driver’s license in Vermont

You’re on a roll now! Once you’ve got your learner’s permit and have practiced driving for a certain amount of time, you’re ready to move onto the second stage in Vermont’s Graduated License program. Here are the requirements to secure a junior driver’s license in Vermont:
  • You must be at least 16 years old
  • Hold a Vermont learner’s permit for at least one year
  • Complete a driver’s education program certified by the Vermont Agency of Education or Vermont DMV and logged into the
    Driver Education Certification Service
  • Complete a Driving Practice Log Sheet with proof of 40 hours of supervised driving practice (including 10 hours at night) certified by a parent or guardian
  • If you’re 16 or 17, you’ll need your parents to sign your application before you can take the driving test
  • Schedule your
    road test online
  • Bring a valid insurance card and registration on the day of your appointment
  • Pass the road test
  • Pay the required $32 junior driver’s license fee
Please note that if your learner’s permit has expired more than three years, a written test will be required before you can take the road test. 

Junior driver’s license restrictions

Congratulations! You've got your first driver’s license and now you’re ready to hit the road. With a junior driver’s license in Vermont, you may drive alone under certain circumstances. 
During the first three months, you are restricted to driving alone. You may have passengers as long as you have at least one licensed parent, guardian, certified driver education instructor, or a 25-year-old adult in the front seat of the vehicle. Only then are you allowed to have additional passengers in your vehicle. 
During the second three months, you may start driving with family members. After six months, there are no restrictions on how many passengers you have in your vehicle—as long as there are enough seat belts for everyone!
Additionally, after you are issued your junior driver’s license, you cannot operate a vehicle for work for at least one year. For example, you cannot deliver pizza or carry passengers for hire. Once you turn 18, you may then obtain your full driver’s license in the Green Mountain State!

How to save on car insurance in Vermont

You did it! You've earned your Vermont driver’s license and now you’re ready for all the fun adventures that lie ahead. But before you hit the road, don’t forget to purchase the right insurance coverage for a teen driver. The easiest and fastest way to go about this is through
Jerry
, the
trustworthy insurance comparison super app
How does it work? All you have to do is download the app and sign up within 45 seconds. You’ll then be provided with dozens of customized quotes from a pool of top providers in the nation. Once you make a decision, our team of expert agents will take it from there!
That’s right — you won’t need to make any unnecessary phone calls or complete any additional paperwork on your end. We’ll even help you cancel your old policy too! And if you have any questions, you can contact us through text or phone call.
On average, Jerry customers save over $800 a year on car insurance!
Jerry
blew my mind, honestly. From start to finish, using the app took me 10 minutes and I ended up with $100 of savings a month. Best of all, customer service answered all my questions about rental car reimbursement and roadside assistance.” —Savanna R. 
Compare quotes from 50+ insurers with Jerry in under 45 seconds?
icon4.7/5 rating on the App Store | Trusted by 5+ million customers and 7 million cars
icon4.7/5 app rating | Trusted by 5M+ drivers

FAQs

In Vermont, you may get a junior driver’s license at the age of 16 if you have held a learner’s permit for at least one year, provide proof of a completed driver’s education course with 40 hours of supervised driving practice (10 hours at night), and pass the road test.
Once you obtain your junior driver’s license, you are required to drive alone for the first three months unless you have a licensed parent, certified driving instructor, or 25-year-old adult with you in the front seat. After you’ve held your junior license for six months, you may drive by yourself or with additional passengers.
icon
Compare Car Insurance Quotes For Free
Jerry automatically shops for your insurance before every renewal. Members save $872/year.
rating primary
4.7/5
Rating on App Store
Start saving money!
12,000+ Reviews
Trusted by 3.5M car owners like you

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

√
No long forms
√
No spam or unwanted phone calls
√
Quotes from top insurance companies
Find insurance savings