The 10 Most Common Ways to Get a Suspended License in Delaware

In Delaware, your driver’s license can be suspended due to accumulating too many points on your record, speeding, driving without insurance, and other reasons.
Written by Jason Tushinski
Reviewed by Kathleen Flear
In Delaware, you can lose your driving privileges for a slew of reasons, including accumulating too many points on your driving record, speeding violations, reckless driving, driving without a license or insurance, street racing, and more. 
It is easy to take your driving privileges for granted, but one mistake can cause your driver’s license to be suspended, not to mention other consequences, including fines and even jail time. Not to mention how it can affect the
cost of car insurance in Delaware.
That’s why it is so important for all Delaware drivers to know the laws of their state.
On that note, the
car insurance
broker and comparison shopping app
has put together everything Delaware drivers need to know to ensure you keep your driving privileges where you want them—in your control.
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms
Find insurance savings

What’s the difference between a license suspension and revocation?

The terms “suspension” and “revocation” are often used interchangeably, but they mean different things.
  • A license suspension means you’ll lose your driving privileges for a set amount of time
  • A license revocation is usually reserved for more serious infractions, and you’ll likely need to reapply for your license when your revocation period expires

What can your license be suspended for in Delaware?

Your driver’s license in Delaware can be suspended for a variety of reasons. The following are
some of the most common.

1. Excessive points

Delaware has a points system, meaning you will face penalties, including suspension, if you accrue too many of them due to traffic violations on your driving record. If you have more than 12 points on your record, you will have to complete a behavior modification or attitudinal driving course as part of the reinstatement process. 
Here are the penalties for accruing too many points on your driving record:
  • 8 points: a warning letter
  • 12 points: required to complete a behavior modification/attitudinal driving course within 90 days of a suspension notice—failure to do so will result in a 2-month license suspension
  • 14 points: mandatory 4-month suspension
  • 16 points: mandatory 6-month suspension
  • 18 points: mandatory 8-month suspension
  • 20 points: mandatory 10-month suspension
  • 22 points: mandatory 1-year suspension

2. Speeding violations

Excessive speeding can land you more than just a ticket in Delaware—you could lose your driving privileges as well if you’re stopped going well above the posted speed limit.
  • 20-24 miles per hour over the limit: warning letter
  • More than 25 miles per hour over the limit: 1-month suspension; every 5 miles per hour increase brings an additional one-month suspension
  • For those cited for speeding between 25-29 miles per hour over the posted limit, they have the option of taking a driver behavior modification course in lieu of the suspension
  • 30 miles per hour over the limit: mandatory suspension
  • 50 to 100 miles per hour over the limit: 1-year suspension, along with a requirement to complete a driver behavior modification course

3. Reckless or unlawful operation of a vehicle

If you are cited for reckless driving or the unlawful operation of a vehicle, 6 points will be added to your driving record. If you accrue 14 points within one, 24-month period, your driver’s license will be subject to a mandatory suspension.

4. Driving uninsured

Delaware has mandatory minimum insurance requirements that all drivers must meet. If you are stopped and cannot provide proof of insurance, you could be hit with serious penalties, including:
  • First offense: 6-month suspension, fine between $1,500 and $2,000
  • Second and subsequent offenses: 6-month suspension, fine between $3,000 and $4,000

5. Driving under suspension or revocation

If you are caught driving while your license is under suspension or revocation, your penalty period will be extended by one year. This means you will not be able to drive under your initial penalty period as well as your extended penalty period.
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms
Find insurance savings

6. Passing a stopped school bus

If you are caught passing a stopped school bus, your license can be suspended from between 1 and 12 months, depending on the circumstances of the incident. You will also face a fine of between $115 and $230, and potentially between 30 and 60 days in jail

7. Failure to pay child support

If you don’t pay child support, Delaware’s Division of Child Support Services (DCSS) along with the DMV will suspend your driver’s license if:
  • As the non-custodial parent, you owe more than $1,000 in child support in the past 30 days
  • You are a non-custodial parent with a bench warrant issued by Family Court, or if you fail to appear at a paternity or child support proceeding

8. Street racing

Street racing carries significant penalties in Delaware, including license suspension:
  • First offense: license suspension of no more than 6 months, a fine between $25 and $300, and potentially jail time of between 10 to 30 days
  • Second offense: 1-year license suspension, a fine between $50 and $400, and potentially between 15 to 60 days in jail

9. Improper use of a driver’s license

Your driving privileges can be suspended for up to 6 months in Delaware if you are found to have improperly used a driver’s license in the following ways:
  • Fraudulently trying to obtain a driver’s license
  • Displaying a suspended, revoked, or canceled license
  • Attempting to use a fictitious license
  • Altering a driver’s license in any way
  • Loaning your driver’s license out to another individual

10. Medical condition that impairs safe driving

If you have a medical condition that might prevent you from safely operating a vehicle, you may lose your driving privileges. 
You will be able to have your driver’s license reinstated if:
  • Your physician (whose care you have been under for at least three months) provides a letter stating that your medical condition is under control
  • You will have to do so every year, no later than the last day of your birth month

How to save money on car insurance in Delaware

The best way to protect your car in the First State—not to mention ensuring your driver’s license isn’t suspended—is with a robust car insurance policy!
By using
, getting the policy you need at the price you want has never been easier! Sign-up takes just under a minute, and then this car super app gets to work comparing more than 50 top quotes to ensure you get the best policy possible! As a
licensed broker
, Jerry will sign you up and help cancel your old one for you!
Best of all, Jerry users save an average of $887 per year on car insurance!
 “A seamless process and a fantastic app!
saved me over $2000 on car insurance. I would recommend it to anyone and everyone.” —Osvaldo B. 
Thousands of customers saved on average $887/year on their car insurance with Jerry
This app is great, but the customer service is even better! Not to mention convenient! My husband and I got the lowest rate (much lower than the rates I was finding online through my own searches), quickly, and pretty much all through text message! Thank you so much for a hassle free experience👍
Gabriella R.
Find insurance savings
rating primary
4.7/5 Rating on App Store
Are you overpaying for car insurance?
Compare quotes and find out in 45 seconds.
Try Jerry

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

No long forms
No spam or unwanted phone calls
Quotes from top insurance companies
Find insurance savings