The 10 Most Common Ways to Get a Suspended License in Connecticut

Failing to pay traffic tickets, a DUI conviction, or driving without insurance are just some of the ways your driver’s license can be suspended in Connecticut.
Written by Jason Tushinski
Reviewed by Kathleen Flear
background
In Connecticut, your
driver’s license
can be suspended for many reasons, including but not limited to failing to pay traffic tickets and fines, being convicted for a first or subsequent DUI, driving with a suspended license, driving without a valid
Connecticut car insurance
policy, or driving without enough insurance to comply with
Connecticut’s minimum requirements
.
Many people take their ability to drive for granted, but one mistake can cost you your driver’s license for a significant period of time, and potentially permanently. Not to mention, it can seriously affect the cost of car insurance in Connecticut. If you’re not familiar with Connecticut’s driving laws, you should be—knowing the laws could be the difference between having the right to drive, or not.
That’s why
Jerry
has put together everything you need to know about making sure you stay on the right side of the law in the Constitution State—and that you keep your driving privileges, too.
RECOMMENDED
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms
Find insurance savings

What’s the difference between a license suspension and revocation?

You might think having your driver’s license suspended or revoked are the same thing, but they are quite different:
  • A license suspension means your driving privileges are taken away for a specific length of time
  • A license revocation is for more serious infractions and means you will likely need to reapply to get your license back after a set amount of time

What can your license be suspended for in Connecticut?

In Connecticut, your driver’s license can be suspended for a variety of reasons. These are the 10
most common reasons
that you could find yourself without driving privileges—and potentially deemed a
high-risk driver
—in Connecticut.

1. Driving under the influence (DUI)

Your Connecticut driver’s license can be suspended for driving under the influence in two ways—an administrative suspension or a conviction-related suspension.
In Connecticut, if you fail a roadside breathalyzer test, your license will be suspended upon the Department of Motor Vehicle’s (DMV) confirmation of results exceeding the state’s 0.8 blood alcohol content limit. Upon notification of the failed test, you’ll receive an administrative suspension notice 30 days after the arrest, with the suspension lasting 45 days.
If you are convicted of a
DUI in Connecticut
, the following license suspensions will apply:
  • First conviction: 45-day license suspension, Ignition Interlock Device (IID) installed in your vehicle for one year after license reinstatement
  • Second conviction: 45-day license suspension, IID installed in your vehicle for three years following reinstatement
  • Third (or more) conviction: permanent revocation; you must wait at least two years from the date of revocation before you can request a hearing for reinstatement

2. Failing to pay tickets, surcharges, and fines

In Connecticut, your license can be suspended if you fail to pay any traffic tickets, surcharges, or fines. You’ll receive a notice of suspension in the mail. You can avoid the suspension if you reopen your case before the suspension takes effect and pay any outstanding fine.
If you reopen your case on or after the effective suspension date, you’ll have to pay a restoration fee of $175.

3. Too many points

Connecticut has a points system, meaning if you accumulate too many on your
driving record
, your driver’s license can be suspended. The following are the penalties for having too many points on your driving record:
  • 6 points: a warning letter
  • 10 or more points: 30-day license suspension
  • 10 additional points: license suspension of up to 24 months

5. Driving with a suspended license

Driving with a suspended license in Connecticut can result in your suspension being extended. 
  • First offense: suspension extended by one year
  • Second or subsequent offense: five-year suspension and potential criminal charges
RECOMMENDED
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms
Find insurance savings

6. Driving without insurance

All drivers in Connecticut must meet the state’s minimum insurance requirements. If you are caught driving without insurance, your license can be suspended:
  • First offense: one-month suspension
  • Second or subsequent offense: six-month suspension

7. Driving without a license

Your driving privileges can be suspended if you are caught driving without a license. Your age will determine how long the suspension runs.
  • Under 18 years of age: one-year suspension
  • Over 18 years of age: 90 days after a second or subsequent conviction

8. DUI in another state 

If you are convicted of a DUI in another state, you’ll face Connecticut’s DUI penalties as well. This means you could face a license suspension of 45 days for your first two DUIs, and you’ll face permanent license revocation after a third offense.

9. Other offenses 

There is a slew of driving (and other) offenses that can get your license suspended in Connecticut, including the following:
  • Drunk driving
  • Second-degree manslaughter with a motor vehicle
  • Racing on a public highway
  • Failure to pay child support

10. Speeding convictions

Speeding can be dangerous, and you could lose your license in Connecticut if you are caught driving above the speed limit too many times. Here’s when your Connecticut license will be suspended due to speeding:
  • Fourth conviction: 30 days
  • Fifth conviction: 60 days
  • Sixth conviction: 6 months

How to save money on car insurance in Connecticut

You can lose your driver’s license in Connecticut if you’re caught driving without car insurance. By using
Jerry
, buying a robust and affordable car insurance policy has never been easier—so you’ve got no excuse!
Sign-up takes just 45 seconds, and then Jerry gets to work comparing more than 50 top quotes to ensure you get the best policy at the lowest price. As a
licensed broker,
Jerry will sign you up and help cancel your old policy, no questions asked. As well, Jerry will automatically search for better rates on your behalf before every renewal period.
Best of all? Jerry users save an average of $887 per year on car insurance!
 “
Jerry
is the future of car insurance! I downloaded the app, entered the information, picked my insurance rate, and paid my fee. I even switched insurance providers easily! Jerry saved me $182/month so quickly!” —Paulina F.
RECOMMENDED
Thousands of customers saved on average $887/year on their car insurance with Jerry
This app is great, but the customer service is even better! Not to mention convenient! My husband and I got the lowest rate (much lower than the rates I was finding online through my own searches), quickly, and pretty much all through text message! Thank you so much for a hassle free experience👍
avatar
Gabriella R.
Find insurance savings
rating primary
4.7/5 Rating on App Store
Are you overpaying for car insurance?
Compare quotes and find out in 45 seconds.
Try Jerry

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

√
No long forms
√
No spam or unwanted phone calls
√
Quotes from top insurance companies
Find insurance savings