Tennessee Car Seat Law
Find out if you’re getting ripped off on your car insurance in less than two minutes.
No long forms · No spam · No fees
Tennessee car seat laws require that all children under the age of 12 must use an appropriate child restraint system. Children younger than eight must ride in the back seat, and children younger than a year old must be rear-facing.
Breaking car seat laws could earn you fines, along with putting young passengers in danger.
That’s why the car insurance broker and comparison shopping app Jerry has compiled everything you need to know to adhere to the car seat laws in Tennessee.
- What are they?
- Driving record
- Insurance impact
- Cheap car insurance
What is the car seat law in Tennessee?
Children under eight years old—or less than 4 feet 9 inches—must use a federally approved child restraint system.
In Tennessee, children under a year must be rear-facing and children between one and three years old should be forward-facing in the back seat. It’s worth noting that the American Pediatric Association recommends that children ride rear-facing until the age of two.
Between four and eight years old, children must use a “belt-positioning booster seat system.” Children between nine and 12 should ride in the back seat and must use adult seat belts.
Key Takeaway Children under 12 should ride in the back seat in Tennessee, and infants under a year must be rear-facing.
What are the penalties for breaking the car seat law in Tennessee?
It’s considered a Class C misdemeanor to break the car seat law in Tennessee. You will be charged a fine of $50.
Key Takeaway Breaking the car seat law in Tennessee will earn you a fine of $50.
Can breaking the car seat law impact my driving record?
You will not get points added to your record if you break the Tennessee car seat laws.
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms · No fees, ever
How breaking car seat laws can impact insurance in Tennessee
It’s unlikely that breaking a car seat law in Tennessee will affect your car insurance rates.
Since you won’t accumulate any points if you break the law, the insurance company will have no indication that you were pulled over and ticketed.
However, if you don’t pay your fee on time then your credit score could go down. In Tennessee, it’s legal for insurance companies to use someone’s credit score to set rates.
Tickets also appear on your driver abstract, which your insurance company may have access to. That means if you rack up lots of tickets, it could potentially impact your insurance premiums (not for the better).
Finding cheap car insurance
If you want cheap car insurance quotes fast, go to Jerry. A licensed broker that offers end-to-end support, the free Jerry app gathers affordable quotes, helps you switch plans, and even cancels your old policy for you.
“The whole switching process took less than 15 minutes! Love Jerry.” - Jerry User
Haven’t shopped for insurance in the last six months? There might be hundreds $$$ in savings waiting for you.
Judith switched to Progressive
Saved $725 annually
Alexander switched to Travelers
Saved $834 annually
Annie switched to Nationwide
Saved $668 annually