How to Find Temporary Car Insurance in Nevada

It’s difficult to find temporary car insurance in Nevada, but you can buy a six-month policy and cancel it before the renewal date.
Written by R.E. Fulton
Reviewed by Kathleen Flear
If you’re looking for
temporary car insurance
, your best bet is to purchase a six-month policy from a reputable provider and cancel early. Most companies advertising shorter policies are running scams, so be cautious! 
Finding a short-term solution to car insurance can feel like an impossible challenge. While some companies will advertise short-term insurance, they’re generally unreputable, and the shortest policies offered by most legitimate providers last six months. 
If you’re looking for temporary car insurance for less than six months, don’t worry.
Car insurance
shopping app
has created a guide to finding short-term car insurance in Nevada. 
Compare insurance quotes from 50+ carriers with Jerry in under 45 seconds
Compare insurance quotes from 50+ carriers with Jerry in under 45 seconds
icon4.7/5 rating on the App Store | Trusted by 5+ million customers and 7 million cars
icon4.7/5 app rating | Trusted by 5M+ drivers

What is temporary car insurance?

The difficulty in defining
temporary car insurance
is that it doesn’t really exist. Most car insurance policies are designed to last six months to one year, meaning that it’s hard to find a policy for a shorter period. Although you may encounter offers for short-term car insurance, they tend to be scams
If you’re in the market for short-term car insurance, it’s best to purchase a six-month policy with a reputable company and cancel it early. However, be cautious when employing this strategy because driving without insurance is a serious offense in almost every state. Jumping quickly between policies can lead to coverage gaps that leave you legally vulnerable. 

Best companies for temporary car insurance in Nevada

Although it’s pretty much impossible to find a true “temporary insurance” policy under six months, certain insurance providers in Nevada will allow you to cancel your policy early with no fees—and you may even get a refund for unused premiums. Here are a few companies to look at for temporary coverage: 
    : GEICO makes canceling a policy easy at any point in a six-month period, and you’ll typically get a refund for the unused amount. 
  • Allstate
    : Allstate allows drivers to cancel policies at any time, and you won’t get a cancellation fee in most cases. 
  • USAA
    : USAA doesn’t charge cancellation fees and does provide refunds—but keep in mind that it’s only available to military members and families. 
  • State Farm
    : It’s easy to cancel a State Farm policy, and in most cases, you can get a refund with no early cancellation fee. 
  • Progressive
    : Progressive’s policies vary state to state, but you typically won’t be charged for canceling before your policy is up. 
Keep in mind that if you’re planning to keep your car, you’ll need to buy another policy to stay in compliance with
Nevada car insurance law
. In Nevada, any lapse in insurance coverage will earn you a $251 reinstatement fee, and gaps longer than 30 days could result in fines up to $1,000. You may also be required to file an
SR-22 certificate
. For repeat violations, your Nevada driver’s license could be suspended! 

Alternatives to temporary car insurance

Depending on your circumstances, you may have other options for short-term car insurance.
Rental car insurance
non-owner car insurance
both offer affordable coverage for some of the unconventional situations that drivers in Nevada face.  

Rental car insurance

If you’re looking for a way to drive temporarily in Nevada without incurring the high fines that come with driving without insurance, a rental car may be a practical option. When you rent a car, you’ll have the option to sign a collision damage waiver (CDW), which gives you the highest level of protection. 
However, experts agree that CDWs are overpriced. You’ll typically have options for more affordable short-term insurance coverage, such as rental car liability insurance and personal car accident insurance, through the rental company. Most standard credit card companies also offer free rental collision coverage

Non-owner car insurance

For Nevada drivers who don’t own a car but do frequently borrow or rent one, there’s non-owner car insurance. Unlike traditional car insurance, which is anchored to a specific vehicle, non-owner insurance follows you from car to car—and it’s usually 10% cheaper than traditional insurance. 

How to find affordable car insurance in Nevada

Whether you’re looking for a six-month policy or long-term insurance, it’s easy to find the lowest car insurance premiums in Nevada. Just download the
app, enter your information, and you could be looking at customized quotes in just 45 seconds! 
As a
licensed broker
and the #1 rated insurance app, Jerry partners with over 50 companies to find you the absolute lowest rates available on the insurance you need—no matter how long you need it for! 
The best news? Jerry saves users an average of $887 a year on car insurance. If you’re looking for a short-term policy to save money, you may be able to afford more than you thought with Jerry’s help! 
Thousands of customers saved on average $887/year on their car insurance with Jerry
This app is great, but the customer service is even better! Not to mention convenient! My husband and I got the lowest rate (much lower than the rates I was finding online through my own searches), quickly, and pretty much all through text message! Thank you so much for a hassle free experience👍
Gabriella R.
Find insurance savings
rating primary
4.7/5 Rating on App Store


If you find a company promising to insure your car for just one month, beware—that’s almost certainly a scam! Reputable car insurance companies won’t offer policies shorter than six months, so you’re better off buying a six-month policy and canceling it early.
Driving without car insurance in Nevada is a serious offense. Even a single-day lapse in insurance comes with a $251 reinstatement fee and lapses longer than 30 days earn fines from $500 to $1,000. In addition, if your insurance lapses for more than 90 days or if you’ve already had two lapses, you’ll be required to get
an SR-22 certificate
, and your license can be suspended for a third offense.
Are you overpaying for car insurance?
Compare quotes and find out in 45 seconds.
Try Jerry

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

No long forms
No spam or unwanted phone calls
Quotes from top insurance companies
Find insurance savings