SR-22 in Missouri: What You Need to Know

An SR-22 is typically required in Missouri when a driver has a serious traffic violation, such as a reckless driving charge or a DUI, on their record.
Written by Hillary Kobayashi
Edited by Jessica Barrett
Reviewed by Georgina Grant
Drivers with a serious traffic violation on their driving record—offenses like reckless driving or a DWI/DUI—may require an
SR-22 certificate
before reinstating their driver’s license in Missouri. It guarantees that you carry the required
Missouri car insurance
  • An SR-22 is a certificate that your insurance company files with the DMV, guaranteeing you have at least the minimum car insurance coverage required by state law.
  • It costs about $25 for an SR-22 certificate in Missouri, but you’ll also notice a significant increase in your
    car insurance rates
  • Not all auto insurance companies will provide SR-22s, so you may need to shop around for coverage.

What is SR-22 insurance in Missouri?

An SR-22 provides Missouri drivers with legal recognition that they carry the state’s minimum required liability coverage.
According to
Missouri car insurance laws
, your car insurance policy must have at least the following:

Drivers with a serious violation must get an SR-22

If you’ve been convicted of a serious driving violation in Missouri, you’ll be considered a
high-risk driver
and may need to file an SR-22. 
Here are some of the offenses that could result in an SR-22 filing:
You'll also need an SR-22 if your
Missouri driver's license
has been

How to get Missouri SR-22 insurance

Here’s what you’ll need to do if you need an SR-22 filing in Missouri:
  • Compare insurance quotes:
    Shop around
    with at least 3 different insurance companies to find the best rate—note that not all companies will insure high-risk drivers. Try an insurance comparison app like
    to make the job quick and easy.
  • Purchase coverage: You’ll need to purchase at least the minimum insurance coverage required by the state. 
  • File SR-22: Your insurance company will need to file the SR-22 form showing proof of insurance with the DMV on your behalf.
Drivers in Missouri are required to keep their SR-22 on file for one to three years. The length of time a driver is required to maintain the SR-22 is based on the violations or reason for the driver’s license suspension.
Did you know? If you need SR-22 insurance because you drive occasionally but you don’t own a vehicle, you can purchase
non-owner SR-22 insurance
—it will follow you, rather than a specific car.

How much does SR-22 insurance cost?

The filing fee for an SR-22 certificate in Missouri is approximately $25, but it's usually paired with an expensive hike in your insurance premium. You may also have to pay a
license reinstatement fee
The increase in your car insurance rate will depend on the violations on your record.

How an SR-22 impacts your insurance in Missouri

An SR-22 will impact your
car insurance rates
and your
choice of insurance provider
If you have an SR-22, you will pay higher insurance premiums than a driver who has a clean
Missouri driving record
Since not all car insurance companies will insure drivers who need an SR-22 certificate, you may need to spend more time shopping around to find affordable rates from those that do.
"An ad for Jerry pops up, and I just thought to try it to see if my current policy is actually the lowest around. Surprisingly not!
found me an even better deal, for the same coverage! It’s just such a deal I decided to make a switch right away. They handle everything for you. Can’t believe I didn’t find this app before!" —Jerry user
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms
Find insurance savings
Are you overpaying for car insurance?
Compare quotes and find out in 45 seconds.
Try Jerry

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

No long forms
No spam or unwanted phone calls
Quotes from top insurance companies
Find insurance savings