Seat-Belt Laws in Texas

Find out if you’re getting ripped off on your car insurance in less than two minutes.
No long forms · No spam · No fees
  • What are they?
  • Noncompliance
  • Cheap car insurance
Seat-belt laws in Texas dictate that all passengers over the age of eight must wear a seat-belt. Child safety laws apply to children. Drivers are responsible for all passengers sixteen years of age or younger.
Studies show that people are far more likely to be injured or die in a car crash if they are not wearing a seat-belt. Stay safe and buckle up!
The car insurance comparison shopping app Jerry has compiled everything you need to know about the Texas seat-belt law so you can avoid fines and stay safe behind the wheel.
RECOMMENDED
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms · No fees, ever

What are the seat-belt laws in Texas?

All passengers eight years of age and older are required by Texas law to wear a seat-belt, no matter where they are seated in the vehicle. Children under the age of eight must be properly restrained with a federally-approved car restraint system.
The driver of the vehicle is responsible for ensuring that passengers sixteen years of age and younger are belted, but passengers seventeen years of age and older are responsible for themselves.
Key Takeaway All passengers eight years of age and older must wear a seat-belt in Texas, and children under the age of eight must be properly restrained.

What happens if you break the seat-belt laws in Texas?

Breaking the Texas seat-belt law is a misdemeanor and could result in a fine between $25 and $50 if the offender is the driver or a passenger who is seventeen years of age or older. The driver will be fined between $100 and $200 if a passenger who is sixteen years of age or younger is unbelted.
In Texas, breaking the seat-belt law is considered a nonmoving violation, so you won’t get any points on your driving record.
Key Takeaway Breaking the Texas seat-belt law will result in a fine of at least $25, and up to $200 if the unbelted passenger is sixteen years of age or younger.

Could it impact my driving record?

It’s unlikely. Since breaking the seat-belt law is considered a nonmoving violation in Texas, you will not receive points on your driving record.
It will show up on your driver abstract, but this shouldn’t have very serious consequences.
RECOMMENDED
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms · No fees, ever

Could it impact my insurance?

Possibly. Seat-belt tickets won’t affect your insurance in most states.
However, your insurance company will definitely notice if you wrack up a ton of seat-belt tickets. If you don’t pay your fine immediately, your credit score might go down. Either scenario could trigger a larger increase in your premiums.

Finding cheap car insurance in Texas

If you’re shopping for car insurance in Texas, the Jerry app will generate competitive quotes from top providers in less than a minute. Jerry gathers your information from your past insurer, so you’re not responsible for any long forms or phone calls. Basically, you get all of the savings and coverage, with none of the hassle.
“Jerry guided me from start to finish so easily and it only took a few minutes.”ーSatisfied Jerry user
RECOMMENDED
Haven’t shopped for insurance in the last six months? There might be hundreds $$$ in savings waiting for you.
avatar
Judith switched to Progressive
icon savingsSaved $725 annually
avatar
Alexander switched to Travelers
icon savingsSaved $834 annually
avatar
Annie switched to Nationwide
icon savingsSaved $668 annually

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

√
No long forms
√
No spam or unwanted phone calls
√
Quotes from top insurance companies
Find insurance savings — it's 100% free