Seat Belt Laws in Tennessee
Find out if you’re getting ripped off on your car insurance in less than two minutes.
No long forms · No spam · No fees
- What are they?
- Cheap insurance
Seat belt laws in Tennessee say that all front seat passengers and drivers must wear a seat belt. Children must use appropriate restraints like car seats. Adults in the back seat are not legally required to wear seat belts in Tennessee. Drivers are responsible for—and can be ticketed for violations by—passengers under the age of 16.
Studies show that people are far more likely to be injured or die in a car crash if they are not wearing a seat belt. Keep safe and buckle up!
The car insurance comparison shopping app Jerry has compiled everything you need to know about Tennessee seat belt laws so you can avoid fines and stay safe behind the wheel.
What are the seat belt laws in Tennessee?
The Tennessee seat belt law says that drivers and front seat passengers must wear an appropriate restraint. This applies to children and adults. In the back seat, it’s legal for adult passengers to go without seat belts. In Tennessee, drivers are held responsible for the safety of passengers under 16 but those over 16 are responsible for themselves.
Key Takeaway Everyone in the front seat—and all passengers 17 or younger—must wear a seat belt in Tennessee.
MORE: 14 safe driving tips
What happens if you break the seat belt laws in Tennessee?
The penalty for breaking the seat belt laws in Tennessee is $25 for the first offense. You must pay $50 for repeat offenses. It is considered a nonmoving violation and won’t add points to your record.
Because it’s a primary offense to break the Tennessee seat belt law, you can be pulled over and ticketed for breaking the seat belt law. The driver must pay the ticket if the unbelted passenger is under the age of 16.
Key Takeaway You could be fined $25 for breaking the seat belt law in Tennessee.
Could it impact my driving record?
Possibly. Tennessee doesn’t assign points to your record for breaking the seat belt law. Insurance companies are unlikely to increase your premium based on a single seat belt violation. However, violations are added to your driver abstract and too many violations will definitely cause your insurance company to look twice.
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms · No fees, ever
Could it impact my insurance?
It’s unlikely as Tennessee law doesn’t add points to your record for breaking an adult seat belt law. However, accruing multiple violations or not paying your fines could lead to a situation where the insurance company is alerted. This could increase your premium.
Finding cheap car insurance in Tennessee
An intelligent AI-based tool like Jerry is the easiest and most effective way to find a car insurance policy that is customized for you.
After providing you with a comprehensive cross-analysis of the best policies across providers, Jerry will handle the phone calls, paperwork, and renewals for your top pick so that you don’t have to. So why do all that extra work when Jerry can do it better?
“Clear and concise. Jerry even cancels your previous policy!” - Jerry User
Haven’t shopped for insurance in the last six months? There might be hundreds $$$ in savings waiting for you.
Judith switched to Progressive
Saved $725 annually
Alexander switched to Travelers
Saved $834 annually
Annie switched to Nationwide
Saved $668 annually