Seat-Belt Laws in Oregon

Find out if you’re getting ripped off on your car insurance in less than two minutes.
No long forms · No spam · No fees
Oregon seat-belt laws require the driver and all passengers to wear seat-belts. The owner of the car, not just the driver, has some responsibility for the car’s seat-belts.
For this reason, it’s important to make sure that your car’s restraint systems are all in proper working order before letting someone else drive it.
To help you understand Oregon’s seat-belt laws and penalties, the car insurance and brokerage app, Jerry, has compiled the following guide.
Continue reading to learn more about seat-belt laws in Oregon.
  • What are they?
  • Noncompliance
  • Cheap car insurance
RECOMMENDED
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms · No fees, ever

What are the seat-belt laws in Oregon?

Oregon seat-belt laws require the driver and all passengers to wear a seat-belt.
Oregon’s seat-belt laws state that drivers are responsible for all passengers under the age of 16 and will be cited and fined if any of those passengers are not in compliance. Passengers 16 years of age and older are responsible for themselves and will be cited for noncompliance.
Young children need to be in compliance with Oregon car seat laws.
There also might be exceptions for vehicles that have more passengers than available seat-belts.
Vehicle owners are responsible for keeping their vehicle’s seat-belts in proper working order.
Key Takeaway All drivers and passengers need to buckle up in Oregon. Vehicle owners also need to keep their seat-belts in proper working order.

What happens if you break the seat-belt laws in Oregon?

Breaking Oregon’s seat-belt law constitutes a Class D driving violation and the resulting ticket could be between $65 to $250.

Could it impact my driving record?

Yes, Class D violations in the state of Oregon will show up on your driving record.
Seat-belt law violations will stay on your record for up to five years.

Could it impact my insurance?

Yes. A Class D violation will demonstrate to your insurance company or prospective insurance companies that you may be a high-risk driver.
Multiple violations will stand out to insurance carriers and could result in higher premiums, or in extreme cases, denial of coverage.
Key Takeaway Breaking Oregon’s seat-belt laws might result in your insurance rates going up.
RECOMMENDED
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms · No fees, ever

Finding cheap car insurance in Oregon

Whether you have a perfect record or one that needs a little work, cheap car insurance is still in the palm of your hand. Literally.
Jerry is a fully licensed, AI-powered brokerage app on your phone that works from the comfort of your pocket to find you the best insurance, no matter what your driving history. Just call on Jerry when you’re ready to start saving and let it take care of all the work that goes into shopping for car insurance.
Jerry saved me time and money! I just used Jerry for the first time. I’m disabled and on partial disability and my auto insurance just went up so I used Jerry. Jerry not only found a lower payment but worked with me to eliminate the high initial payment into equal payments that fit into my budget. I’m very happy I downloaded and used the Jerry app.”—Satisfied Jerry user
RECOMMENDED
Haven’t shopped for insurance in the last six months? There might be hundreds $$$ in savings waiting for you.
avatar
Judith switched to Progressive
icon savingsSaved $725 annually
avatar
Alexander switched to Travelers
icon savingsSaved $834 annually
avatar
Annie switched to Nationwide
icon savingsSaved $668 annually

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

√
No long forms
√
No spam or unwanted phone calls
√
Quotes from top insurance companies
Find insurance savings — it's 100% free