Seat-Belt Laws in Oklahoma

Find out if you’re getting ripped off on your car insurance in less than two minutes.
No long forms · No spam · No fees
Oklahoma seat-belt laws are among the laxest in the nation and only apply to the driver and front-seat passengers, who must wear seat-belts at all times. Children under the age of eight or shorter than 4’9” should be in a car seat or booster seat.
To help you understand Oklahoma’s seat-belt laws and penalties, car insurance and brokerage app, Jerry, has compiled the following guide.
Continue reading to learn more about seat-belt laws in Oklahoma.
RECOMMENDED
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms · No fees, ever

What are the seat-belt laws in Oklahoma?

Oklahoma’s seat-belt laws only apply to drivers and front-seat passengers, who must wear a seat-belt at all times. Children who are under the age of eight or shorter than 4’9” should be in an appropriate car seat or booster for their size and age.
Front-seat passengers over the age of 18 are responsible for their own violations. Front-seat passengers under the age of 18 are the responsibility of the driver.
Oklahoma’s current seat-belt laws only apply to front-seat passengers and children under the age of eight. A law that required children eight years of age and older to wear seat-belts in the back seat of the car was repealed in 2016. A recent attempt to reinstate this law has failed to pass.
Oklahoma officials recommend that children over the age of eight wear a seat-belt at all times, but there is no law that enforces this practice.
Key Takeaway Children over the age of eight are not required to wear seat-belts in the back seat of a car, but it is highly recommended that they do so.

What happens if you break the seat-belt laws in Oklahoma?

Oklahoma’s seat-belt laws stipulate that a $20 fine will be levied against anyone who willingly breaks the law.
That is the extent of the punishment—the law specifically states that the violation will not be reported on your driving record, nor will it incur any points.

Could it impact my driving record?

No. Oklahoma’s laws are written specifically so that violations will not be reported on your record.

Could it impact my insurance?

It’s unlikely. Because violations are not reported to Oklahoma’s DMV, they don’t show up on your driving record.
Insurance companies refer to your driving record when they calculate your premiums. Your carrier will not know that you’ve violated any seat-belt laws, so your rates will not go up.
Key Takeaway Breaking Oklahoma’s seat-belt laws will not likely impact your insurance rates.
RECOMMENDED
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms · No fees, ever

Finding cheap car insurance in Oklahoma

If you’re in the market for cheap car insurance, just call on Jerry to get the job done!
Jerry is a fully licensed, AI-powered brokerage app working from the comfort of your pocket to find you the best insurance at great rates! Just put in a few details about yourself and your car, and let Jerry do all the heavy lifting. You could start saving money on your car insurance in literally minutes.
“Can I be honest? I was EXTREMELY skeptical about this app. I just thought to myself: ‘what the heck do I have to lose.’ To my surprise, the app generated quotes rather quickly and I ended up purchasing a policy that saved me $1,100 switching from GEICO AND I got better coverage!! I’d say this was a complete win. Thanks, Jerry!!!”—Satisfied Jerry user
RECOMMENDED
Haven’t shopped for insurance in the last six months? There might be hundreds $$$ in savings waiting for you.
avatar
Judith switched to Progressive
icon savingsSaved $725 annually
avatar
Alexander switched to Travelers
icon savingsSaved $834 annually
avatar
Annie switched to Nationwide
icon savingsSaved $668 annually

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

√
No long forms
√
No spam or unwanted phone calls
√
Quotes from top insurance companies
Find insurance savings — it's 100% free