Seat-Belt Laws in North Carolina
Find out if you’re getting ripped off on your car insurance in less than two minutes.
No long forms · No spam · No fees
- Seat-belt laws
- Driving record impacts
- Insurance impacts
- Cheap car insurance
Seat-belt laws in North Carolina dictate that all passengers older than 16 must wear a seat-belt. Drivers are responsible for passengers under the age of 16. Passengers under the age of 16 are covered by the child safety law.
Studies show that people are far more likely to be injured or die in a car crash if they are not wearing a seat-belt. Be safe and buckle up!
The car insurance comparison shopping app Jerry has compiled everything you need to know about the North Carolina seat-belt law so you can avoid fines and stay safe behind the wheel.
What are the seat-belt laws in North Carolina?
All passengers over the age of 16 are required by North Carolina law to wear a seat-belt. Passengers under the age of 16 are covered by the child safety laws, which require appropriate restraint systems.
Passengers over the age of 16 are responsible for themselves, but drivers are responsible for passengers under the age of 16.
Key Takeaway All passengers over the age of 16 are required by law to wear a seat-belt in North Carolina. Child safety laws apply to younger passengers.
What happens if you break the seat-belt laws in North Carolina?
Breaking the North Carolina seat-belt law could result in a fine of $25.50 plus $153.50 in court costs if the driver or front-seat passenger is not belted. A back-seat violation will result in a $10 fine.
In North Carolina, breaking the seat-belt is considered a nonmoving violation. This means you won’t get any points on your record.
A police officer is allowed to pull you over in North Carolina if they spot a front-seat seat-belt violation, as it’s considered a primary offense. A back-seat violation is considered a secondary offense, which means you can only be ticketed if you’re pulled over for another reason.
Key Takeaway Breaking the North Carolina seat-belt law will result in a fine. The fine is higher for an unbelted driver or front-seat passenger.
Could it impact my driving record?
It’s unlikely. Since breaking the seat-belt law is considered a nonmoving violation in North Carolina, you will not receive points on your driving record. There is even a law in North Carolina that states that no insurance surcharge will be assessed based on a seat-belt violation.
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms · No fees, ever
Could it impact my insurance?
Possibly. Seat-belt tickets won’t affect your insurance in most states.
However, your insurance company will definitely notice if you wrack up a ton of seat-belt tickets. This could trigger an increase in your premiums.
Finding cheap car insurance in North Carolina
If you’re shopping for car insurance in North Carolina, the Jerry app is the easiest and most effective way to find a car insurance policy that is customized for you.
After providing you with a comprehensive cross-analysis of the best policies across providers, Jerry will handle the phone calls, paperwork, and renewals for your top pick so that you don’t have to. So why do all that extra work when Jerry can do it better?
“Absolutely exceptional service. I renewed my insurance in 7 minutes flat.”ーSatisfied Jerry user
Haven’t shopped for insurance in the last six months? There might be hundreds $$$ in savings waiting for you.
Judith switched to Progressive
Saved $725 annually
Alexander switched to Travelers
Saved $834 annually
Annie switched to Nationwide
Saved $668 annually