Seat-Belt Laws in Nevada

Find out if you’re getting ripped off on your car insurance in less than two minutes.
No long forms · No spam · No fees
  • What are they?
  • Noncompliance
  • Cheap insurance
Nevada seat-belt laws require anyone in a moving car who is over the age of six or weighs more than 60 pounds to wear a seat-belt.
To help you understand Nevada’s seat-belt laws and penalties, car insurance and brokerage app, Jerry, has compiled the following guide.
Continue reading on to learn more about seat-belt laws in Nevada.
RECOMMENDED
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms · No fees, ever

What are the seat-belt laws in Nevada?

Nevada’s seat-belt laws stipulate that anyone in a moving car who is over the age of six (or weighs more than 60 pounds) must wear a seat-belt.
Children under this threshold must be in the appropriate restraint system for their size.
Drivers are responsible for any passenger under the age of 18 who are not in compliance, whereas passengers over the age of 18 are responsible for themselves.
Key Takeaway Anyone in a moving car who is over the age of six (or weighs more than 60 pounds) must wear a seat-belt in Nevada.

What happens if you break the seat-belt laws in Nevada?

Violating the law will result in a $25 fine. Seat-belt violations are considered non-moving violations.
Breaking a seat-belt law in Nevada is considered a misdemeanor offense and it will show up on your driving and criminal record. Failure to pay the fine could result in a warrant for your arrest.

Could it impact my driving record?

Yes. The misdemeanor offense will appear on your driving and criminal record. You will not be able to have it removed for at least one year.

Could it impact my insurance?

Yes. Having more than one offense on your record might signal to insurance carriers that you are a high-risk driver, and you might incur higher premiums or even denial of coverage.
The consequences could be worse if you choose to ignore the ticket, but even having the misdemeanor on your record could be considered a red flag to insurance companies.
Key Takeaway Breaking Nevada’s seat-belt laws can negatively impact your insurance rates or result in denial of coverage.
RECOMMENDED
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms · No fees, ever

Finding cheap car insurance in Nevada

Being responsible is the best way to keep your car insurance rates down, but the next best thing is to have a helping hand. And Jerry is the helping hand that you can keep in the palm of your hand.
Jerry is a brokerage app built for the sole purpose of savings when it comes to car insurance. Just provide some basic info and Jerry does all the rest, including shopping and comparing rates to bring you policies that don’t sacrifice coverage for price, or vice versa! And when you make your choice, Jerry finalizes all of the paperwork and even cancels your old policy!
“Great service, outstanding result! Jerry was a quick and easy process to get quotes back, many of which provided savings from my current premiums at the same (or better) coverage levels. David was very helpful in answering all of my questions and providing additional insights. Saving over $6,000/yr (33%) is tremendous and much higher than I expected!!!” -Jerry user
RECOMMENDED
Haven’t shopped for insurance in the last six months? There might be hundreds $$$ in savings waiting for you.
avatar
Judith switched to Progressive
icon savingsSaved $725 annually
avatar
Alexander switched to Travelers
icon savingsSaved $834 annually
avatar
Annie switched to Nationwide
icon savingsSaved $668 annually

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

√
No long forms
√
No spam or unwanted phone calls
√
Quotes from top insurance companies
Find insurance savings — it's 100% free