Seat Belt Laws in Missouri
Find out if you’re getting ripped off on your car insurance in less than two minutes.
No long forms · No spam · No fees
- What are they?
- Cheap insurance
Seat belt laws in Missouri say that all front seat passengers and drivers must wear a seat belt. Kids between 8-15 years of age must always wear seat belts. It’s a primary offense to break this law, so you can be pulled over and ticketed for it. Drivers are responsible for—and can be ticketed for violations by—passengers younger than 16.
Studies show that people are far more likely to be injured or die in a car crash if they are not wearing a seat belt. Keep safe and buckle up!
The car insurance comparison shopping app Jerry has compiled everything you need to know about Missouri seat belt laws so you can avoid fines and stay safe behind the wheel.
What are the seat belt laws in Missouri?
The Missouri seat belt law says that drivers and front seat passengers must wear an appropriate restraint. Children should use federally-approved restraint systems, and those between the ages of eight and 15 must wear seat belts. In Missouri, drivers are held responsible for passengers under the age of 16.
Key Takeaway Everyone in the front seat is legally required to wear a seat belt in Missouri, along with young passengers between the ages of 8 - 15.
What happens if you break the seat belt laws in Missouri?
The penalty for breaking the seat belt laws in Missouri is a $10 fine plus court costs. The driver must pay the fine if the person who broke the seat belt law was under the age of 16. Drivers and passengers 16 and older will be ticketed for their own offenses.
Breaking the seat belt law is considered a nonmoving violation in Missouri and won’t add points to your record. However, it is a primary offense to break the seat belt law in Missouri. This means that you can be pulled over and ticketed for breaking it.
Key Takeaway You could face a $10 fine—plus court costs—if you or a young passenger in your vehicle breaks the seat-belt law.
Could it impact my driving record?
Possibly. Missouri doesn’t assign points to your record for breaking the seat belt law. Because of this, insurance companies are unlikely to increase your premium based on a single seat belt violation.
However, violations are added to your driver abstract. If you break this law more than once, it will definitely cause your insurance company to look twice.
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms · No fees, ever
Could it impact my insurance?
It’s unlikely as Missouri law does not add points to your record for breaking a seat belt law. However, accruing multiple violations or not paying your fines could lead to a situation where the insurance company is alerted. This could increase your premium. Be sure to pay your fees promptly!
Finding cheap car insurance in Missouri
If you want cheap car insurance quotes fast, go to Jerry. A licensed broker that offers end-to-end support, the free Jerry app gathers affordable quotes, helps you switch plans, and even cancels your old policy for you.
Leave the hard work of gathering quotes to someone else. The free app can collect quotes from up to 50 top insurance companies in seconds!
“Saved us a TON! Jerry was so easy to use, would recommend to anyone.” - Jerry User
Haven’t shopped for insurance in the last six months? There might be hundreds $$$ in savings waiting for you.
Judith switched to Progressive
Saved $725 annually
Alexander switched to Travelers
Saved $834 annually
Annie switched to Nationwide
Saved $668 annually