Seat Belt Laws in Minnesota
Find out if you’re getting ripped off on your car insurance in less than two minutes.
No long forms · No spam · No fees
- What are they?
- Cheap insurance
Seat belt laws in Minnesota say that the driver and all passengers must wear a seat belt. If all the belts are taken, passengers are exempt. Drivers must ensure their passengers 14 and younger are following the law.
Studies show that people are far more likely to be injured or die in a car crash if they are not wearing a seat belt. Keep safe and buckle up!
The car insurance comparison shopping app Jerry has compiled everything you need to know about Minnesota seat belt laws so you can avoid fines and stay safe behind the wheel.
What are the seat belt laws in Minnesota?
The Minnesota seat belt law says that drivers and all passengers must wear a seat belt. Drivers are responsible for passengers 14 and under, whereas passengers 15 and up are responsible for themselves (and will be ticketed themselves if they break the law). If all seat belts are taken, passengers are exempt.
It’s a primary violation to break the seat belt law in Minnesota, so you can be pulled over and ticketed if an officer notices that someone in your vehicle is not wearing a seat belt.
Key Takeaway Drivers and passengers must always be belted in Minnesota. Drivers are responsible for passengers 14 and under.
What happens if you break the seat belt laws in Minnesota?
The penalty for breaking the seat belt laws in Minnesota is a $25 fine, but with additional surcharges, the total can exceed $100. This is per violation.
It’s considered a nonmoving violation to break the seat belt law in Minnesota, and you won’t get any points added to your record.
Key Takeaway You could face a large fine if you or a passenger 14 and younger in your vehicle break the seat belt law.
Could it impact my driving record?
Possibly. Since it’s a nonmoving violation and you don’t get any points for it, insurance companies won’t automatically bump up your premium based on breaking the seat belt law.
However, violations do get added to your driver abstract. If you break this law more than once, it will definitely cause your insurance company to take a second look. They could bump up your rate if they start to see a pattern of risky behavior.
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms · No fees, ever
Could it impact my insurance?
It’s unlikely as Minnesota law does not add points to your record for breaking a seat belt law.
However, insurance companies do pay close attention to multiple violations, as this is a clue that you are turning into a risky driver. On the other hand, not paying your fines could lead to a problem with your credit, which could be another cause for concern. Either situation could increase your premium. So be sure to pay your fees promptly!
Finding cheap car insurance in Minnesota
Jerry is your ultra-talented car insurance broker for life. No need to sit across from him at a desk—Jerry is an app! It takes less than a minute to sign up and you’ll be presented with competitive rates from up to 50 top providers. Don’t lose coverage, find savings with Jerry.
“Jerry saved me $107 a month. Super fast and easy process. ” - Jerry User
Haven’t shopped for insurance in the last six months? There might be hundreds $$$ in savings waiting for you.
Judith switched to Progressive
Saved $725 annually
Alexander switched to Travelers
Saved $834 annually
Annie switched to Nationwide
Saved $668 annually