Seat Belt Laws in Massachusetts

Find out if you’re getting ripped off on your car insurance in less than two minutes.
No long forms · No spam · No fees
  • What are they?
  • Noncompliance
  • Cheap insurance
Seat-belt laws in Massachusetts say that all passengers and drivers must wear a seat belt. Children must use appropriate restraints like car seats. Drivers are responsible for—and can be ticketed for violations by—passengers under the age of 16.
Studies show that people are far more likely to be injured or die in a car crash if they are not wearing a seat belt. Keep safe and buckle up!
The car insurance comparison shopping app Jerry has compiled everything you need to know about Massachusetts seat belt laws so you can avoid fines and stay safe behind the wheel.

What are the seat belt laws in Massachusetts?

The Massachusetts seat belt law says that everyone in the vehicle must wear an appropriate restraint. This applies to children and adults, back seat passengers and front seat passengers (and drivers). In Massachusetts, drivers are held responsible for the safety of passengers under 16 but those over 16 are responsible for themselves.
Key Takeaway Everyone must wear a seat belt in Massachusetts, no matter their age or location in the vehicle.

What happens if you break the seat belt laws in Massachusetts?

The penalty for breaking the seat belt laws in Massachusetts State is $25. It is considered a nonmoving violation.
Because it’s a secondary offense to break the Massachusetts seat belt law, you can only be ticketed for it if you get pulled over for another reason. You cannot be pulled over in this state solely for a seat belt violation. The driver must pay the ticket if the unbelted passenger is under the age of 16.
Key Takeaway You could be fined $25 for breaking the seat belt law in Massachusetts.

Could it impact my driving record?

Possibly. Massachusetts doesn’t assign points to your record for breaking the seat belt law. It’s not a surchargeable violation in this state, so insurance companies are unlikely to increase your premium based on a single seat belt violation. However, violations are added to your driver abstract and too many infractions will definitely cause your insurance company to look twice.
RECOMMENDED
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms · No fees, ever

Could it impact my insurance?

It’s unlikely as Massachusetts law doesn’t add points to your record for breaking an adult seat belt law. However, accruing multiple violations or not paying your fines could lead to a situation where the insurance company is alerted. This could increase your premium.

Finding cheap car insurance in Massachusetts

Need to cut car insurance costs? Keep the coverage and find the savings with Jerry. Jerry contacts your insurance company to get the details of your current coverage so you don’t have to scale a mountain of questions. You get all the best prices and coverage with none of the legwork.
“Great price, coverage, and process. Jerry is such a convenient app!” - Jerry User
RECOMMENDED
Haven’t shopped for insurance in the last six months? There might be hundreds $$$ in savings waiting for you.
avatar
Judith switched to Progressive
icon savingsSaved $725 annually
avatar
Alexander switched to Travelers
icon savingsSaved $834 annually
avatar
Annie switched to Nationwide
icon savingsSaved $668 annually

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

√
No long forms
√
No spam or unwanted phone calls
√
Quotes from top insurance companies
Find insurance savings — it's 100% free