Seat-Belt Laws in Louisiana

Find out if you’re getting ripped off on your car insurance in less than two minutes.
No long forms · No spam · No fees
Louisiana seat-belt laws require the driver and all passengers over the age of 13 to wear a seat-belt. Passengers under the age of 13 need to be in compliance with car-seat laws.
Seat-belts save lives, so make sure you buckle up before taking off.
To help you understand Louisiana’s seat-belt laws and penalties, car insurance and brokerage app, Jerry, has compiled the following guide to understanding them.
Keep reading to learn more about seat-belt laws in Louisiana.
  • What are they?
  • Noncompliance
  • Cheap car insurance
RECOMMENDED
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms · No fees, ever

What are the seat-belt laws in Louisiana?

If you’re older than 13 in the state of Louisiana, you must wear a seat-belt.
Louisiana car seat laws cover children under the age of 13.
Adults over the age of 18 are responsible for their own seat-belt violations, whereas the driver is responsible for those committed by underage passengers. A seat-belt law violation in Louisiana is considered a primary offense, which means a police officer can pull over and cite a driver for the violation.
Key Takeaway Everyone over the age of 13 needs to buckle up in Louisiana.

What happens if you break the seat-belt laws in Louisiana?

The initial penalty for breaking Louisiana’s car seat law is $50, which includes all court costs. The second offense will result in a $75 fine, which also includes court costs.
All subsequent offenses will incur a $75 fine plus court costs.

Could it impact my driving record?

If you have any prior citations on your driving record for these types of offenses, you will receive a citation on your driving record, although you will not incur any points on your license.

Could it impact my insurance?

Possibly. If you receive a citation for breaking seat-belt laws, it might have a negative impact on your insurance. This is especially true if you have more than one.
Having multiple citations on your driving record demonstrates to your insurance carrier, or any prospective carriers, that you may be a high-risk driver. High-risk drivers are often charged more for their coverage than low-risk drivers.
If your risk is high enough, carriers may refuse to insure you entirely.
Key Takeaway Breaking Louisiana’s seat-belt laws might result in your insurance rates going up.
RECOMMENDED
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms · No fees, ever

Finding cheap car insurance in Louisiana

If a couple of citations have you worried about your rates going up, don’t worry! Cheap car insurance is still just a click away, if you’ve got the Jerry app!
Jerry finds you great insurance at reasonable rates, even with a spotty driving record. All it needs is a few details about you and your car, and Jerry gets straight to workshopping. In less time than you think, you’ll be taking your pick out of a selection of policies that cover your car and don’t drain your wallet!
“Saved a ton of money! The Jerry app is the best if you have had accidents and are waiting for the rates to come down! Literally saving $8,000 over the course of a year.”—Satisfied Jerry user
RECOMMENDED
Haven’t shopped for insurance in the last six months? There might be hundreds $$$ in savings waiting for you.
avatar
Judith switched to Progressive
icon savingsSaved $725 annually
avatar
Alexander switched to Travelers
icon savingsSaved $834 annually
avatar
Annie switched to Nationwide
icon savingsSaved $668 annually

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

√
No long forms
√
No spam or unwanted phone calls
√
Quotes from top insurance companies
Find insurance savings — it's 100% free