Seat-Belt Laws in Kansas

Find out if you’re getting ripped off on your car insurance in less than two minutes.
No long forms · No spam · No fees
Kansas seat-belt laws require all passengers, regardless of seating position, to wear a seat belt while the car is in motion.
To help you understand Kansas’ seat-belt laws and penalties, car insurance and brokerage app, Jerry, has compiled the following guide.
Keep reading to learn more about seat-belt laws in Kansas.
RECOMMENDED
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms · No fees, ever

What are the seat-belt laws in Kansas?

In Kansas, all passengers, regardless of seating position, must wear a seat belt while the car is in motion.
Kansas’ seat-belt laws are primary laws when it comes to the driver, front-seat passengers, or passengers under the age of 18. This means that an officer can pull you over if they observe a noncompliance, even if no other driving violations are being committed.
The driver is responsible for minor passengers who are out of compliance.
Seat-belt laws for back-seat passengers are secondary laws, which means that officers cannot pull a driver over for suspected noncompliance. Police officers can only pull a driver over if they’re committing another driving violation, and only then can they cite the offending party for not wearing their seat-belt.
Key Takeaway Kansas’s seat belt laws are either primary or secondary, depending on where the offender is sitting.

What happens if you break the seat-belt laws in Kansas?

The driver is responsible for minors who are not properly secured in the vehicle, and the fine for non-compliance is $60, with no court costs.
Adults who are not in compliance with Kansas seat-belt laws are responsible for their own citations, which is a fine of $30, with no court costs.

Could it impact my driving record?

Yes, a seat-belt law citation will appear on your driving record.

Could it impact my insurance?

Yes. Citations can alert your insurance carrier or any potential carriers that you may be a high-risk driver.
Having more citations can raise your perceived risk level and your insurance premiums along with it.
Key Takeaway Breaking Kansas’ seat-belt laws can alert your insurance carrier that you are a high-risk driver.
RECOMMENDED
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms · No fees, ever

Finding cheap car insurance in Kansas

Shopping for cheap car insurance can seem daunting. After all, it involves giving your information out over and over again to a multitude of different companies, waiting for quotes, comparing results, and poring over the fine print. So why deal with that when Jerry can do it for you?
Jerry is a fully licensed, AI-powered brokerage app that takes your info one time and does all that hard work for you! All you have to do is take your pick from great quotes that offer you the coverage you expect and deserve. And Jerry even cancels your old policy so that you don’t have to!
“Saved me $500 a year! I was a little skeptical, and I hate giving out my contact info for stuff like this, but it turned out to really work and be easy. The best part for me as I am always working is that I never had to have long phone conversations—it was all done through the Jerry app and when I had questions they answered immediately via text. Great service, I have to say, and well worth it.”—Satisfied Jerry user
RECOMMENDED
Haven’t shopped for insurance in the last six months? There might be hundreds $$$ in savings waiting for you.
avatar
Judith switched to Progressive
icon savingsSaved $725 annually
avatar
Alexander switched to Travelers
icon savingsSaved $834 annually
avatar
Annie switched to Nationwide
icon savingsSaved $668 annually

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

√
No long forms
√
No spam or unwanted phone calls
√
Quotes from top insurance companies
Find insurance savings — it's 100% free