Seat Belt Laws in Delaware
Find out if you’re getting ripped off on your car insurance in less than two minutes.
No long forms · No spam · No fees
Delaware seat belt laws require all drivers and passengers to wear a seat belt while a vehicle is in operation.
Children under 7 must be secured in a child safety seat or booster seat, wearing either a fitting harness or having a seat belt securely over their lap.
Breaking the Delaware seat belt law could lead to fines, legal trouble, and even increased car insurance premiums.
That’s why the car insurance broker and comparison shopping app Jerry has compiled everything you need to know about seat belt laws in Delaware.
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms · No fees, ever
What are the seat belt laws in Delaware?
The Delaware seat belt law says that everyone in the vehicle must wear an appropriate restraint. This applies to children and adults, back-seat passengers, and front-seat passengers (and drivers).
Seat belts must be worn over the lap and shoulder. Drivers can be cited for the incorrect usage of seat belts.
Meanwhile, children under 65 pounds should be placed in the back of the vehicle, and ride in an age-appropriate car seat, such as a child restraint system or booster seat.
There are some exemptions to the seat belt law. Those with physician verified medical conditions can’t be cited for the law. Neither can mail delivery drivers.
Delaware regards a seat belt law violation as a primary offense, meaning law enforcement can pull you over for not wearing one (or wearing one improperly).
What happens if you break the seat-belt laws in Delaware?
In Delaware, failing to abide by seat belt laws can lead to a fine of $25, plus court costs—totaling around $83.
The driver is issued the ticket, regardless of who in the vehicle is in violation of the seat belt law.
Key Takeaway If either you or one of your passengers fails to wear a seat belt properly, expect to pay around $83 in fines.
Could it impact my driving record?
Probably not. Though $83 in costs isn’t fun, a seat belt violation doesn’t lead to any demerit points in Delaware.
Could it impact my insurance?
It’s unlikely that a seat belt violation will cause your insurance premium to increase (on its own).
However, be aware that minor infractions can add up and alert your insurance company, which could result in a premium increase.
Not paying a ticket could also impact your credit score, which can increase your car insurance premiums in some states.
Finding cheap car insurance in Delaware
No matter how clean your driving record is, it’s vital to have the right insurance. To find the best package, try the car insurance and broker app Jerry.
Jerry is your ultra-talented car insurance broker for life. No need to sit across from him at a desk—Jerry is an app! It takes less than a minute to sign up and you’ll be presented with competitive rates from up to 50 top providers.
Don’t lose coverage, find savings with Jerry.
“I am enthralled! I usually hate searching for car insurance quotes because it means a ton of phone calls. With Jerry everything just lined up. I even was able to text with an agent instead of talking on the phone. The best part is that Jerry will automatically shop when it’s time for new insurance. Using Jerry felt a lot like texting a smart friend who knows a lot about car insurance. I say give it a try.”—Satisfied Jerry user