Seat Belt Laws in Colorado
Find out if you’re getting ripped off on your car insurance in less than two minutes.
No long forms · No spam · No fees
- What are they?
- Cheap insurance
Seat belt laws in Colorado say that the driver and all front seat passengers must wear a seat belt. In the back seat, anyone 16 and older is not legally required to wear a belt—unless the driver is younger than 18.
Studies show that people are far more likely to be injured or die in a car crash if they are not wearing a seat belt. Keep safe and buckle up!
The car insurance comparison shopping app Jerry has compiled everything you need to know about Colorado seat belt laws so you can avoid fines and stay safe behind the wheel.
What are the seat belt laws in Colorado?
The Colorado seat belt law says that drivers, all front seat passengers, and all back seat passengers under 16 must wear a seat belt. When the driver is under 18, everyone must be belted. These drivers are not responsible for their passengers, whereas drivers 18 and up are responsible for ensuring their passengers are belted.
Key Takeaway Drivers and front seat passengers must always be belted in Colorado. When the driver is under 18, everyone must wear a seat belt.
What happens if you break the seat belt laws in Colorado?
The penalty for breaking the seat belt laws in Colorado is a $65 fine with a $6 fee. Drivers 18 and older must pay the fine if anyone in their vehicle broke the law. Adult drivers won’t get any points added to their record.
If the driver is younger than 18, the car can be pulled over for seat belt offenses. Anyone not wearing a seat belt will be assigned community service hours on top of the $65 fine, and they’ll receive two points on their driving record.
It’s considered a moving violation to break the seat belt law in Colorado. This means that insurance companies can see it.
Key Takeaway You could face a $65 fine if you or a passenger under 18 in your vehicle break the seat belt law. Drivers under 18 face additional consequences.
Could it impact my driving record?
Yes. If you’re a driver under the age of 18, Colorado adds two points to your record for breaking the seat belt law. Either way, it’s a moving violation. This means that insurance companies may bump up your premium based on breaking the seat belt law.
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms · No fees, ever
Could it impact my insurance?
Yes. Colorado law considers seat belt violations to be moving violations—and insurance companies do not like to see this type of offense on your record. Young drivers will be significantly affected, as they receive two points on their driving record for breaking the seat belt law.
Make sure you pay your fees promptly and avoid multiple violations to minimize the impact on your insurance.
Finding cheap car insurance in Colorado
If you want cheap car insurance quotes fast, go to Jerry. A licensed broker that offers end-to-end support, the free Jerry app gathers affordable quotes, helps you switch plans, and even cancels your old policy for you.
“I was skeptical, but Jerry ended up saving me $200 a year and it was dead simple.” - Jerry User
Haven’t shopped for insurance in the last six months? There might be hundreds $$$ in savings waiting for you.
Judith switched to Progressive
Saved $725 annually
Alexander switched to Travelers
Saved $834 annually
Annie switched to Nationwide
Saved $668 annually