Seat Belt Laws in Arizona
Find out if you’re getting ripped off on your car insurance in less than two minutes.
No long forms · No spam · No fees
- What are they?
- Cheap insurance
Seat belt laws in Arizona say that all front seat passengers and drivers must wear a seat belt. In the back seat, passengers 16 and older are not legally required to wear a seat belt. Passengers under 16 must always wear a seat belt. Drivers are responsible for—and can be ticketed for violations by—young passengers.
Studies show that people are far more likely to be injured or die in a car crash if they are not wearing a seat belt. Keep safe and buckle up!
The car insurance comparison shopping app Jerry has compiled everything you need to know about Arizona seat-belt laws so you can avoid fines and stay safe behind the wheel.
What are the seat-belt laws in Arizona?
The Arizona seat belt law says that everyone in the front seat of the vehicle must wear an appropriate restraint. Passengers 16 and under must always be belted in Arizona. In the back seat, people over the age of 16 are not legally required to wear a seat belt. Drivers are responsible for passengers under 16.
Key Takeaway Everyone must wear a seat belt in Arizona, no matter their age or location in the vehicle.
What happens if you break the seat belt laws in Arizona?
The penalty for breaking the seat belt laws in Arizona is $10. It’s considered a secondary offense, which means that you can only be ticketed for it if you get pulled over for another reason. The driver must pay the ticket if the unbelted passenger is under the age of 16, and the fee will be closer to $50 if you break a child car-seat law.
Key Takeaway You could be fined $10 for breaking the seat belt law in Arizona.
Could it impact my driving record?
Possibly. Arizona doesn’t assign points to your record for breaking the seat belt law. However, violations are added to your driver abstract and too many violations will definitely cause your insurance company to look twice.
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms · No fees, ever
Could it impact my insurance?
It’s unlikely as Arizona law doesn’t add points to your record for breaking an adult seat belt law. However, accruing multiple violations or not paying your fines could lead to a situation where the insurance company is alerted. This could increase your premium.
Finding cheap car insurance in Arizona
If you’re shopping for car insurance, Jerry will generate competitive quotes from top providers in less than a minute. Jerry gathers your information from your past insurer, so you’re not responsible for any long forms or phone calls. Basically, you get all of the savings and coverage, with none of the hassle.
“Everything from beginning to conclusion was impressive. Thank you all!” - Jerry User
Haven’t shopped for insurance in the last six months? There might be hundreds $$$ in savings waiting for you.
Judith switched to Progressive
Saved $725 annually
Alexander switched to Travelers
Saved $834 annually
Annie switched to Nationwide
Saved $668 annually