Car Seat Laws in Rhode Island

Find out if you’re getting ripped off on your car insurance in less than two minutes.
No long forms · No spam · No fees
Rhode Island car seat laws break down according to your child’s size, and all children under the age of 8 or 80 pounds must be secured in a child safety seat.
Rhode Island is one of the few states where breaking car seat law will mandate a court appearance in addition to a fine. This can be subverted by proving you’ve purchased the right restraint system for your child.
To help keep your kids buckled up properly, the car insurance comparison and broker app Jerry has compiled everything you need to know about car seat laws in Rhode Island.
RECOMMENDED
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms · No fees, ever

What is the car seat law in Rhode Island?

Rhode Island’s car seat laws break down according to the child’s age and size, as follows:
  • Infants and toddlers under the age of 2 years or weighing less than 30 pounds must be in a rear-facing car seat.
  • Children over the age of 2 who have outgrown their rear-facing car seat should be in a forward-facing car seat with a harness until they outgrow it.
  • Children who have outgrown front-facing car seats but are under the age of 8, shorter than 57 inches tall, or weighing less than 80 pounds should sit in a booster seat.
  • Children who are taller than 57 inches or weigh over 80 pounds (even if they’re under the age of 8) can use a standard seat belt.
Key Takeaway Children younger than 8 should be in an appropriate safety restraint system.

What are the penalties for breaking the car seat law in Rhode Island?

If you’re pulled over for having a child who is not securely fastened in the car, you’ll receive a citation.
You’ll have seven days to prove that you’ve purchased an appropriate restraint system. If you can’t provide proof of purchase, you will need to appear in court before a tribunal and will be fined $85.

Can breaking the car seat law impact my driving record?

Citations won’t appear on your driving record; however, if you receive a fine and don’t pay it, that might.
If you receive a citation and address it promptly, your driving record will remain clean.

How breaking car seat laws can impact insurance in Rhode Island

Since citations don’t appear on your driving record as per Rhode Island law, it’s unlikely that breaking the state’s car seat laws will have any impact on your insurance.
RECOMMENDED
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms · No fees, ever

Finding cheap car insurance

Finding cheap car insurance is less of a hassle when you have a clean driving record. But even if you don’t, you can still save money, thanks to Jerry.
A licensed broker, Jerry does all the hard work of finding the cheapest quotes from the top insurance companies, finalizing your new insurance, and even canceling your old policy for you.
And to ensure you always have the lowest rate, Jerry will send you new quotes every time your policy comes up for renewal—so you’re always getting the coverage you want at the best price. This level of service is why Jerry earned a 4.6/5 rating on the App Store and made it the top insurance app in the country.
“I can’t believe I found insurance in my price range! It was quick, easy, painless, and the best part was the price. I’m now going to be saving almost $150/month.” —Satisfied Jerry user
RECOMMENDED
Haven’t shopped for insurance in the last six months? There might be hundreds $$$ in savings waiting for you.
avatar
Judith switched to Progressive
icon savingsSaved $725 annually
avatar
Alexander switched to Travelers
icon savingsSaved $834 annually
avatar
Annie switched to Nationwide
icon savingsSaved $668 annually

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

√
No long forms
√
No spam or unwanted phone calls
√
Quotes from top insurance companies
Find insurance savings — it's 100% free