Car Seat Laws in Pennsylvania
Find out if you’re getting ripped off on your car insurance in less than two minutes.
No long forms · No spam · No fees
Pennsylvania law requires that children under two years of age use a rear-facing car seat in the backseat. When a child outgrows the car seat manufacturer’s height and weight requirements, they may be allowed to graduate to the next level.
Breaking Pennsylvania’s car seat laws could earn you fines, along with putting young passengers in danger.
That’s why the car insurance broker and comparison shopping app Jerry has compiled everything you need to know to adhere to Pennsylvania’s car seat laws.
Keep reading一we’ll cover everything you need to know about Pennsylvania car seat laws.
What is the car seat law in Pennsylvania?
Pennsylvania law requires that children under two years old use a rear-facing car seat in the backseat.
Until the age of four, children in Pennsylvania must be restrained with a federally-approved child safety seat. Children between four and eight are legally required to be restrained with an appropriate booster seat.
When a child outgrows the car seat manufacturer’s height and weight requirements, they may be allowed to graduate to the next level.
Key Takeaway Follow the manufacturer guidelines for height and weight, and consult expert recommendations for installation to be sure you’re using appropriate protections.
What are the penalties for breaking the car seat law in Pennsylvania?
If you break Pennsylvania’s car seat law, you will face a penalty of $125.
Note that this fee is per violation. So if you have two children in the car and neither is secured properly, your total fine could be $250.
The Pennsylvania car seat law in 2018 holds up today and is per the Center for Disease Control and Prevention’s (CDC) advice.
Key Takeaway The penalty for breaking the car seat law in Pennsylvania is $125 per violation.
Can breaking the car seat law impact my driving record?
It’s unlikely. In Pennsylvania, you will not get points on your driving record if you break the car seat law.
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms · No fees, ever
How breaking car seat laws can impact insurance in Pennsylvania
If you are fined for breaking a car seat law in Pennsylvania and you do not pay the fine, it could impact your insurance.
This is because if you do not pay that fine (or pay it late), it could affect your credit. In Pennsylvania, it’s legal for insurance companies to consider your credit score when calculating your premium.
So if you do not want your car insurance premium to go up, then be sure to pay your fees promptly. Even better, don’t break the law!
Finding cheap car insurance
No matter how perfect (or imperfect) your driving record, Jerry will help you find cheap car insurance.
An intelligent AI-based tool, Jerry is the easiest and most effective way to find a car insurance policy that is customized for you.
After providing you with a comprehensive cross-analysis of the best policies across providers, Jerry will handle the phone calls, paperwork, and renewals for your top pick so that you don’t have to. So why do all that extra work when Jerry can do it better?
“Saved me $200 a month! My jaw literally dropped.” - Satisfied Jerry user
Haven’t shopped for insurance in the last six months? There might be hundreds $$$ in savings waiting for you.
Judith switched to Progressive
Saved $725 annually
Alexander switched to Travelers
Saved $834 annually
Annie switched to Nationwide
Saved $668 annually