Car Seat Laws in Oregon

Find out if you’re getting ripped off on your car insurance in less than two minutes.
No long forms · No spam · No fees
Car seat laws in Oregon are straightforward and are mostly based on your child’s weight. The 40-pound mark will impact what sort of restraint system they’ll need until they’re tall enough to wear seatbelts.
Oregon car seat laws are designed to protect children from bodily harm in the event of an accident. That’s why the car insurance broker and comparison shopping app Jerry has compiled everything you need to know to adhere to Oregon’s car seat laws.
Learn more about Oregon’s laws by reading on.
RECOMMENDED
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms · No fees, ever

What is the car seat law in Oregon?

In the state of Oregon, child passengers are required to be restrained in an approved child safety seat until they reach either 40 pounds or the maximum weight limit for the car seat in use.
While there is no law about keeping children in the rear seat, rear-facing car seats must be installed in the back seat in order to be considered properly used.
Once your child surpasses 40 pounds, they are allowed to use seatbelts in conjunction with a booster seat or a child seat with a harness. When they turn eight years old (or reach a height of 4’9”), they are permitted to only use seatbelts.
Key Takeaway In Oregon, children under 40 pounds need car seats and children over 40 pounds require booster seats.

What are the penalties for breaking the car seat law in Oregon?

Violations of Oregon’s car seat laws are considered Class D traffic infractions and are punishable by a minimum $115 fine.

Can breaking the car seat law impact my driving record?

Yes, breaking the car seat laws in Oregon will impact your driving record.
In the state of Oregon, driving with an unsecured or improperly secured child is considered a Class D violation, which is the lowest in terms of severity, but it will still impact your driving record.

How breaking car seat laws can impact insurance in Oregon

Class D violations are considered moving violations, even if they’re the least severe in Oregon’s classification system, and these violations may signal to your insurance carrier that you are a high-risk driver, which may result in your premiums going up.
Key Takeaway Violating car seat laws in Oregon is considered a Class D Violation and can impact your insurance.
RECOMMENDED
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms · No fees, ever

Finding cheap car insurance

Everyone wants to save money on car insurance, whether your driving record is pristine or is in need of a polish. Jerry makes it quicker and easier than ever, no matter what your record looks like.
Jerry knows all the secrets to finding cheap car insurance, and it’s willing to use its knowledge to save you money. Just tell Jerry a little about yourself and the car you drive, and let it handle the rest. Jerry will even finalize your paperwork and cancel your old policy for you.
“Really easy service. Within a few minutes, they pulled up 2 different insurance policies that showed at least a $900 savings for a 6-month term!! Thanks, Jerry!” - Jerry User
RECOMMENDED
Haven’t shopped for insurance in the last six months? There might be hundreds $$$ in savings waiting for you.
avatar
Judith switched to Progressive
icon savingsSaved $725 annually
avatar
Alexander switched to Travelers
icon savingsSaved $834 annually
avatar
Annie switched to Nationwide
icon savingsSaved $668 annually

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

√
No long forms
√
No spam or unwanted phone calls
√
Quotes from top insurance companies
Find insurance savings — it's 100% free