Open Container Laws in Oklahoma

In Oklahoma, you can be fined a maximum of $500 for having any opened container of alcohol in the passenger area of your car, and you also risk jail time.
Written by Sara Brody
Reviewed by Kathleen Flear
background
Under
Oklahoma’s
open container law, you can receive a fine of up to $500 for having an open container of alcohol in a moving vehicle—even if you’re completely sober. Still worse, you’ll have a misdemeanor charge on your record and could even face the possibility of up to six months in jail.
RECOMMENDED
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms
Find insurance savings

What is the open container law in Oklahoma?

Section 1220
of the Oklahoma Statutes deals with circumstances on the road in which opened containers of beer or liquor are prohibited. According to this law, you can get a citation in the following cases:
  • You have an open or unsealed container (including cans, bottles, or other receptacles) containing any amount of alcohol in your car
  • The container is in an area accessible to passengers 
  • You are on a public highway and the vehicle is in motion
In short, it’s usually illegal to have an open container of alcohol in your car in Oklahoma—even if you haven’t taken a single sip. If you are traveling with alcohol in your car, it must be sealed and stowed in the trunk, rear compartment, or any outside compartment. 

What counts as an open container?

When you think of an open container, you might imagine a half-finished can of beer, but “open container” can refer broadly to any receptacle that contained alcohol, was previously covered, or has a broken seal. This means that even re-sealed containers stowed in passenger areas could put you at risk of being cited.
To be safe, it’s advisable to dump any drink that isn’t fully sealed and unopened before hitting the road in Oklahoma.  

Exceptions to Oklahoma’s open container law

In Oklahoma, if you are riding in a chauffeured limousine, you can possess and consume low-point beer (containing 3.2% alcohol or less) in the passenger area of the vehicle. There are also some exceptions under the law for passengers in buses. 
Key Takeaway The fine for violating Oklahoma’s open container law can be as lofty as $500, and jail time might also result.

Penalties for violating Oklahoma’s open container law

In Oklahoma, a violation of the open container law is considered a misdemeanor and punishable by a fine of up to $500 and up to six months in jail. You might also be on the hook for an additional $100 trauma care fee, as well as additional court fees
But even if you avoid the worst consequences of violating the open container law, a citation can still cause your
car insurance
premium to skyrocket. To avoid seeing your rates rise, make sure you understand the details of the law and follow it carefully.
“I recently started looking for insurance. With my past ticket, I got rejected from several companies while others charged me extreme prices. My friend referred me to
Jerry
and their amazing customer service helped me get the lowest insurance rate.” —Christina H.
Compare quotes from 50+ insurers with Jerry in under 45 seconds?
icon4.7/5 rating on the App Store | Trusted by 5+ million customers and 7 million cars
icon4.7/5 app rating | Trusted by 5M+ drivers
Generally, the open container law can be applied to both drivers and passengers in Oklahoma.
Your license can be revoked for 30 days if you refuse to take a breathalyzer test in Oklahoma.
Are you overpaying for car insurance?
Compare quotes and find out in 45 seconds.
Try Jerry

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

√
No long forms
√
No spam or unwanted phone calls
√
Quotes from top insurance companies
Find insurance savings