Open Container Laws in Delaware

Delaware has no open container laws, so passengers can consume alcohol in a car as long as the driver doesn’t drink.
Written by Macy Fouse
Reviewed by Kathleen Flear
The state of Delaware currently has no open container law. This means it is legal for vehicle passengers to drink from open containers of alcohol while the driver is driving.
The vast majority of states in the U.S. have open container laws in place, but these laws vary drastically from state to state. That’s why it’s important to know your state’s laws. 
Here to help is
car insurance
comparison and broker app
. We’ve created a guide to open container laws in Delaware including what the law says, how to avoid penalties, and how to save on your
Delaware insurance costs
, even after an infraction. 

What is the open container law in Delaware?

Delaware currently has no open container law. Passengers are permitted to have open containers of alcohol and consume them while the driver is driving. The driver, however, cannot drink while driving, and their blood alcohol content (BAC) must be below the legal limit of 0.08. 
This rule, however, may vary per the local ordinance where you’re driving, so be sure to know the rules. 

Getting pulled over

If you get pulled over by law enforcement and there’s an open container in the car, they may assume you’ve also been drinking. In this case, you’ll likely be submitted to a field sobriety test. Even though the legal limit is 0.08, if your BAC is 0.05 and the police note evidence of impairment—like an open container in the car—you could be arrested.
Key Takeaway Passengers in Delaware are free to have open containers in the vehicle as long as the driver isn’t consuming alcohol.
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms
Find insurance savings

Delaware’s DUI laws

If you’re found to be operating a vehicle while under the influence of alcohol or drugs, you could be arrested. You can be convicted for a BAC of 0.08, but 0.05 is enough for an arrest. A DUI in Delaware comes with a fine anywhere from $550 to $1,500, up to 12 months in jail, and a 12- to 24-month revocation of your driver’s license.
A DUI will devastate your driving record—and your
car insurance rates
. That’s why it’s crucial to play it safe and avoid driving after consuming alcohol.

How to save money on car insurance in Delaware

Understanding the fine print of Delaware’s drinking and driving laws can help you avoid getting into trouble—and avoid overpaying for
car insurance
. To make sure you’re getting the best rates available, use the
app to shop. 
Partnering with over 50 name-brand providers, Jerry gathers quotes customized to fit your needs. Just download our
trustworthy super app
to gain access to potential savings in under a minute! The average Jerry user saves $800+ a year on car insurance! 
“This was the coolest insurance company I’ve seen so far. They saved me $1,200 and their UX is stellar. Go
!” —Carla W.
Let Jerry find your price in only 45 seconds
No spam · No long forms · No fees
Find insurance savings
If you refuse to take a breathalyzer test in Delaware, your license can be suspended for 12 months for the first refusal.
Are you overpaying for car insurance?
Compare quotes and find out in 45 seconds.
Try Jerry

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

No long forms
No spam or unwanted phone calls
Quotes from top insurance companies
Find insurance savings