Car Seat Laws in Ohio
Find out if you’re getting ripped off on your car insurance in less than two minutes.
No long forms · No spam · No fees
Ohio car seat laws require that children under four years old (or under 40 pounds) be situated in a child safety seat that meets federal guidelines. Children under eight need to use car seats or booster seats until they are taller than 4’9”.
Breaking Ohio’s car seat laws could earn you fines, along with putting young passengers in danger.
That’s why the car insurance broker and comparison shopping app Jerry has compiled everything you need to know to adhere to Ohio’s car seat laws.
What is the car seat law in Ohio?
Ohio law requires children under four years of age (or under 40 pounds) to be placed in a child safety seat that meets federal guidelines. Though rear-facing car seat laws in Ohio are nonexistent, experts recommend that children under two use rear-facing car seats.
Kids younger than eight should use a booster seat. They can legally ride without the booster seat when they are taller than 4 feet 9 inches, although it’s safer to continue using them until a child can comfortably fit into the adult restraint.
Key Takeaway Children under four years old need to sit in a child safety seat. Children younger than eight should sit in a booster seat.
MORE: Ohio seat belt laws
What are the penalties for breaking the car seat law in Ohio?
If you break the car seat law in Ohio, you could be fined anywhere between $25 and $75 per occurrence.
Key Takeaway The fine for breaking the car seat law in Ohio is $25 to $75.
Can breaking the car seat law impact my driving record?
No, it’s not likely. In Ohio, you do not receive any points on your driving record for breaking a car seat law.
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms · No fees, ever
How breaking car seat laws can impact insurance in Ohio
In Ohio, breaking the car seat law will not result in points on your record, and therefore it will not impact your insurance premium.
However, if you don’t pay your fine immediately then it could harm your credit score. It’s legal in Ohio for insurers to consider credit scores when determining your premium.
To make sure you don’t see an increase in your payment, make sure to pay all fees promptly—especially if you already have an imperfect record.
Finding cheap car insurance
If you want cheap car insurance quotes fast, go to Jerry. A licensed broker that offers end-to-end support, the free Jerry app gathers affordable quotes, helps you switch plans, and even cancels your old policy for you.
Jerry can help you find cheap insurance in Ohio, no matter your record. Give us a try—we promise not to be backseat drivers.
“Cut my insurance in half, I still can’t believe it!” - Satisfied Jerry user
Haven’t shopped for insurance in the last six months? There might be hundreds $$$ in savings waiting for you.
Judith switched to Progressive
Saved $725 annually
Alexander switched to Travelers
Saved $834 annually
Annie switched to Nationwide
Saved $668 annually