North Carolina Car Seat Law
Find out if you’re getting ripped off on your car insurance in less than two minutes.
No long forms · No spam · No fees
- What is it?
- Driving record
- Insurance impact
- Cheap insurance
North Carolina car seat laws require that children under the age of five ride in the back seat. All kids must use an appropriate child restraint system and follow manufacturer guidelines until the adult seat belts fit comfortably.
Breaking car seat laws could earn you fines, along with putting young passengers in danger.
That’s why the car insurance broker and comparison shopping app Jerry has compiled everything you need to know to adhere to the car seat laws in North Carolina.
What is the car seat law in North Carolina?
Children under five years old and less than 40 pounds must ride in the back seat. All children must use a federally approved child restraint system until they surpass the manufacturer’s requirements for height and weight.
The North Carolina child car seat law states that children can be forward-facing if they fit the manufacturer’s guidelines. However, experts say that children are safer in rear-facing seats until at least age 2.
It is legal (though not recommended) for kids in North Carolina to ride in the front seat, so long as there is no active passenger airbag or there is no rear seat.
Key Takeaway Children under the age of five need to ride in the back seat, and all kids must use restraint systems following the manufacturer guidelines.
What are the penalties for breaking the car seat law in North Carolina?
If you break the car seat law in North Carolina, your penalty will be up to $25. You may also have to pay for court costs and administrative fees.
You will also get two points added to your driving record.
Key Takeaway Breaking the car seat law in North Carolina will earn you a $25 fine plus court fees, and you will get two points on your record.
Can breaking the car seat law impact my driving record?
Yes. Breaking the car seat law in North Carolina is a serious offense, and you’ll be penalized with two demerit points on your driving record. Points generally stay on your record for three years.
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms · No fees, ever
How breaking car seat laws can impact insurance in North Carolina
Points on your record are an indication of risk. Higher-risk drivers tend to pay more for car insurance.
If you break the law and get points on your record, your car insurance payment could skyrocket. It’s also important to pay your fine immediately so it doesn’t affect your credit score. People with poor credit tend to pay more for car insurance, too.
Tickets also appear on your driver abstract, which your insurance company may have access to. That means if you rack up lots of tickets, it could potentially impact your insurance premiums (not for the better).
Finding cheap car insurance
If you want cheap car insurance quotes fast, go to Jerry. A licensed broker that offers end-to-end support, the free Jerry app gathers affordable quotes, helps you switch plans, and even cancels your old policy for you.
“The app is so easy to use, and non-intrusive. I saved 55% on my premiums.” - Jerry User
Haven’t shopped for insurance in the last six months? There might be hundreds $$$ in savings waiting for you.
Judith switched to Progressive
Saved $725 annually
Alexander switched to Travelers
Saved $834 annually
Annie switched to Nationwide
Saved $668 annually