Car Seat Laws in New York
Find out if you’re getting ripped off on your car insurance in less than two minutes.
No long forms · No spam · No fees
- What is it?
- Driving record
- Insurance impact
- Cheap insurance
New York car seat laws require children younger than four to ride in a child safety seat. Children under the age of eight need to use a child restraint system. And children under the age of two must ride in a rear-facing car seat.
Breaking New York’s car seat laws could earn you fines, along with putting young passengers in danger.
That’s why the car insurance broker and comparison shopping app Jerry has compiled everything you need to know to adhere to New York’s car seat laws.
What is the car seat law in New York?
If a child is younger than four, they must ride in a child safety seat. All children under eight are legally required to use a child restraint system in New York.
A child restraint system can mean a booster seat, a safety seat, harness, or vest.
Children under the age of two must ride in a rear-facing car seat.
Key Takeaway In New York, children under the age of two must ride in a rear-facing car seat. Children under four need a safety seat, while children under eight need a child restraint system.
What are the penalties for breaking the car seat law in New York?
If you violate the New York car seat law, you could be fined $50.
If the child in violation of the car seat law is under the age of sixteen, the maximum fine is $100 and the driver gets three points on their driving record.
Key Takeaway You will receive a fine and three points on your record if you break the car seat law in New York.
Can breaking the car seat law impact my driving record?
Yes, in New York the state will add three points to your driving record if you break the car seat law.
Plus, you were probably pulled over for a separate offense (like speeding). In this case, you could be facing a penalty of more than three points.
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms · No fees, ever
How breaking car seat laws can impact insurance in New York
Breaking car seat laws is considered a moving violation in New York and you will get points on your record, which will ultimately impact your insurance.
The amount you pay for insurance is determined by risk. If you are a risky driver, you’ll have to pay more for coverage. Points on your record (say, for allowing a seven-year-old to ride without a child restraint system) demonstrate high risk, which will impact your insurance.
Not only could your premium skyrocket, but some companies might even refuse to insure you.
Finding cheap car insurance
Jerry helps drivers find cheap car insurance, no matter how spotless (or not) their driving record is.
Either way, you probably want to save money on car insurance. Jerry is a good place to start. A licensed broker, Jerry does all the hard work of finding the cheapest quotes from the top name-brand insurance companies and buying new car insurance. Jerry will even cancel your old policy for you.
And to ensure you always have the lowest rate, Jerry will send you new quotes every time your policy comes up for renewal, so you’re always getting the coverage you want at the best price.
“You can tailor a custom car insurance plan with Jerry and see which company gives you the best price. I found the exact plan I wanted for less than $100 a month.” - Satisfied Jerry user
Haven’t shopped for insurance in the last six months? There might be hundreds $$$ in savings waiting for you.
Judith switched to Progressive
Saved $725 annually
Alexander switched to Travelers
Saved $834 annually
Annie switched to Nationwide
Saved $668 annually