Car Seat Laws in New Mexico

Find out if you’re getting ripped off on your car insurance in less than two minutes.
No long forms · No spam · No fees
Car seat laws in New Mexico are a little complex in that their regulations are almost entirely based on either age or height and weight. Keep a careful eye on the guidelines and remember to switch to a booster seat or a seatbelt when your child is ready.
New Mexico car seat laws are designed to protect children from bodily harm in the event of an accident. That’s why the car insurance broker and comparison shopping app Jerry has compiled everything you need to know to adhere to New Mexico’s car seat laws.
RECOMMENDED
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms · No fees, ever

What is the car seat law in New Mexico?

New Mexico car seat laws are based on either age or height and weight. The car seat requirements are broken down below:
  • Children up to a year old must be in a rear-facing car seat.
  • Children under the age of seven, regardless of weight are required to be restrained in an approved child safety seat. This requirement expires on their seventh birthday.
  • Children who weigh fewer than 60 pounds, regardless of age are required to be restrained in an approved child safety seat.
  • Children between the age of seven and twelve must ride in a booster seat until an adult seat belt fits them correctly.
Key Takeaway Children under the age of seven, regardless of weight, must be in a car seat. Children who weigh fewer than 60 pounds, regardless of age, must also be in a car seat.

What are the penalties for breaking the car seat law in New Mexico?

A first offense for breaking the car seat law in New Mexico is up to a $25 fine. You will also incur two points on your drivers’ license.
Police officers can pull over drivers that they spot or suspect are driving with children not properly secured, even if the driver isn’t committing any other violation.
Key Takeaway Violating New Mexico’s car seat law will earn you a fine and two points on your driver’s license.

Can breaking the car seat law impact my driving record?

Yes, the infraction will go on your driving record and you will receive two points on your license. Accumulating enough points on your license can result in its suspension.

How breaking car seat laws can impact insurance in New Mexico

Violating New Mexico’s car seat laws will go on your record, which insurance companies reference when determining your insurance rates.
If your carrier, or other potential carriers, see you as risky, they will increase your insurance premiums, or refuse to insure you at all.
RECOMMENDED
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms · No fees, ever

Finding cheap car insurance

If you’ve got points or citations on your driving record, don’t despair. It’s still possible to find cheap car insurance, even when your record is less than pristine.
Jerry makes it easy to find great rates and coverage, without you having to worry about comparison shopping yourself. That’s because Jerry is a licensed brokerage app that handles comparison shopping for you. Just give Jerry a few quick details, let it handle the rest, and be amazed by how much you can save.
“It was quick, easy, painless and for me, the best part was the price. I’m now going to be saving almost $150/month!” - Satisfied Jerry user
RECOMMENDED
Haven’t shopped for insurance in the last six months? There might be hundreds $$$ in savings waiting for you.
avatar
Judith switched to Progressive
icon savingsSaved $725 annually
avatar
Alexander switched to Travelers
icon savingsSaved $834 annually
avatar
Annie switched to Nationwide
icon savingsSaved $668 annually

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

√
No long forms
√
No spam or unwanted phone calls
√
Quotes from top insurance companies
Find insurance savings — it's 100% free