New Jersey Car Seat Law

Find out if you’re getting ripped off on your car insurance in less than two minutes.
No long forms · No spam · No fees
  • What is it?
  • Noncompliance
  • Driving record
  • Insurance impact
  • Cheap insurance
New Jersey car seat laws require that children under the age of eight must be secured safely in the rear seat of a vehicle. Children under two years old must be rear-facing.
All young passengers must be secured properly according to the manufacturer guidelines.
Breaking car seat laws could earn you fines, along with putting young passengers in danger.
That’s why the car insurance broker and comparison shopping app Jerry has compiled everything you need to know to adhere to the car seat laws in New Jersey.

What is the car seat law in New Jersey?

Children under eight years old—or less than 57 inches—must be seated in the rear seat of a vehicle, and they must use a federally approved child restraint system.
New Jersey baby car seat laws state that children younger than two years old should be secured in a rear-facing restraint system.
Follow the manufacturer’s guidelines for height and weight to ensure you’re adhering to the law.
Key Takeaway Children under the age of eight need to ride in a federally approved child restraint system, and they should ride in the back seat.

What are the penalties for breaking the car seat law in New Jersey?

If you break the State of New Jersey car seat laws, you will pay a fine between $10 and $25. In September 2021, that fee will increase to $50 to $75.
Key Takeaway Breaking the car seat law in New Jersey will earn you a fine of between $10 and $75.

Can breaking the car seat law impact my driving record?

In New Jersey, you will not get any points added to your record for breaking the car seat safety laws.
RECOMMENDED
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms · No fees, ever

How breaking car seat laws can impact insurance in New Jersey

If you don’t pay your fees immediately in New Jersey, it could have an impact on your credit score. In New Jersey, it’s currently legal for car insurance companies to consider your credit score when calculating your premium. Legislators are working to pass a law that prohibits this but it has not passed yet.
So, the lower your credit is, the higher your payment might be. Pay your fines promptly!
Tickets also appear on your driver abstract, which your insurance company may have access to. That means if you rack up lots of tickets, it could potentially impact your insurance premiums (not for the better).

Finding cheap car insurance

An intelligent AI-based tool like Jerry is the easiest and most effective way to find a car insurance policy that is customized for you.
After providing you with a comprehensive cross-analysis of the best policies across providers, Jerry will handle the phone calls, paperwork, and renewals for your top pick so that you don’t have to. So why do all that extra work when Jerry can do it better?
“These guys really helped me out when I was in a tight spot. 10/10 would recommend.” - Jerry User
RECOMMENDED
Haven’t shopped for insurance in the last six months? There might be hundreds $$$ in savings waiting for you.
avatar
Judith switched to Progressive
icon savingsSaved $725 annually
avatar
Alexander switched to Travelers
icon savingsSaved $834 annually
avatar
Annie switched to Nationwide
icon savingsSaved $668 annually

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

√
No long forms
√
No spam or unwanted phone calls
√
Quotes from top insurance companies
Find insurance savings — it's 100% free