Car Seat Laws in New Hampshire

The New Hampshire car seat law requires that all children younger than 7 or shorter than 57 inches be secured in an appropriate safety restraint for their size.
Written by Michelle Ballestrasse
Reviewed by Kathleen Flear
The New Hampshire car seat law requires that all children younger than 7 or shorter than 57 inches be secured in an appropriate safety restraint for their size.
New Hampshire car seat laws, like the laws found in other states, are designed to protect children from bodily harm in the event of an accident—so it’s important to understand them.
The
car insurance
comparison and broker app
Jerry
is here to keep you on the right side of the law with an overview of the car seat laws in New Hampshire. And if you're interested in lowering your
New Hampshire insurance costs
, Jerry can help with that, too!
RECOMMENDED
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms
Find insurance savings

What is the car seat law in New Hampshire?

The laws in New Hampshire surrounding car seats are relatively straightforward. Children under the age of 7 or shorter than 57 inches—whichever comes first—must be secured in the proper safety seat for their size.
All passengers between 7 and 18 years old are legally required to use a seat belt.
Key Takeaway Children under 7 years of age or 57 inches tall must be restrained in the correct safety seat.

What are the penalties for breaking the car seat law in New Hampshire?

If you don’t abide by the state’s car seat laws, you can expect to receive a fine.
The first violation of New Hampshire’s car seat law will result in a fine of $50. Second-time offenders will incur a fine of $100.

Can breaking the car seat law impact my driving record?

Yes. Breaking car seat laws in New Hampshire constitutes a violation. While it isn’t a moving violation, it will show up on your driving record.

How breaking car seat laws can impact insurance in New Hampshire

Having a violation on your driving record—moving violation or otherwise—can signal to insurance providers that you may be a
higher-risk driver
. Insurance companies see higher-risk drivers as greater liabilities to insure, so premiums tend to be on the higher side.
If you wrack up numerous violations (or even just one very serious one), some insurance companies may even refuse you coverage.
Key Takeaway Violating car seat laws may have a negative impact on your insurance rates.
RECOMMENDED
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms
Find insurance savings

Finding cheap car insurance

No matter what your driving record looks like, finding
cheap car insurance
is quick and easy when you’ve got
Jerry
on your side.
Jerry will find you the lowest-cost quotes from name-brand insurers and help you make the switch so you can start saving right away. No phone calls, no paperwork, and no hassles for you.
The average Jerry user saves over $800 per year on car insurance!
"
Jerry
is beyond easy to use, everything is prompt and well explained, and they actually found me a rate $100 lower than I was paying previously. Not to mention they don’t sell your info, so I’ve gotten no quote calls from auto insurers! Thanks guys!" —Rick S.
RECOMMENDED
Haven’t shopped for insurance in the last six months? There might be hundreds $$$ in savings waiting for you.
avatar
Judith switched to Progressive
icon savingsSaved $725 annually
avatar
Alexander switched to Travelers
icon savingsSaved $834 annually
avatar
Annie switched to Nationwide
icon savingsSaved $668 annually
Are you overpaying for car insurance?
Compare quotes and find out in 45 seconds.
Try Jerry

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

√
No long forms
√
No spam or unwanted phone calls
√
Quotes from top insurance companies
Find insurance savings