Car Seat Laws in Nevada

Find out if you’re getting ripped off on your car insurance in less than two minutes.
No long forms · No spam · No fees
  • What is it?
  • Noncompliance
  • Driving record
  • Insurance impacts
  • Cheap insurance
Car seat laws in Nevada adhere to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) guidelines and require children up to the age of six to use a restraint system or booster seat. The state still recommends using a booster seat until the child reaches a certain size, regardless of their age.
Nevada recently updated their car seat laws in 2020 and they now carry more significant penalties and fines.
Nevada car seat laws are designed to protect children from bodily harm in the event of an accident. That’s why the car insurance broker and comparison shopping app Jerry has compiled everything you need to know to adhere to Nevada’s car seat laws.
RECOMMENDED
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms · No fees, ever

What is the car seat law in Nevada?

Nevada’s car seat laws do not specify how old or what size a child must be to use a particular type of restraint system, but rather they defer to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) recommendations.
The only legal requirement is that children up to the age of six who weigh up to 60 pounds must use an approved child restraint system, whether that’s a rear-facing car seat for infants or a front-facing booster seat for small children.
If a child is secured in a booster seat, but is not the right size, this is considered a violation of the car seat law.
Key Takeaway Nevada car seat laws do not specify what restraint system needs to be used for children at different ages, but it is considered a violation if a child is using a booster seat that is too small.

What are the penalties for breaking the car seat law in Nevada?

A first offense incurs a fine of $100 to $500, or 10-50 hours of community service. Offenders with a prior conviction can be fined between $500 and $1,000.
A second offense will incur a fine between $500 and $1,000, or 50-100 hours of community service.
First and second offense penalties may be waived if the offender completes a child restraint system training class within 60 days of sentencing.
A third offense will result in the defendant’s license being suspended for 30 to 180 days.
Key Takeaway Punishments for violating car seat laws in Nevada are stricter than in other states, so make sure to keep your car seats up to code.

Can breaking the car seat law impact my driving record?

Nevada does not consider violating car seat laws a moving violation and therefore does not assign points to your license.
That being said, these violations are still considered misdemeanors and do show up on your criminal record.

How breaking car seat laws can impact insurance in Nevada

While Nevada’s DMV doesn’t assign points to your license for violating car seat laws, violations are still considered misdemeanors and can result in your insurance rates going up. Auto insurance companies may choose to increase your premiums because you would be considered a high-risk driver.
RECOMMENDED
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms · No fees, ever

Finding cheap car insurance

Even with misdemeanors on your record, finding cheap car insurance is still quick and easy, thanks to Jerry.
Jerry just takes a few quick details and a few quick minutes to shop through hundreds of policies across dozens of carriers, so that even with a less than perfect record, you can still find the perfect insurance at the perfect price.
“This app deserves more than 5 stars! Jerry is the new benchmark in app usefulness.” - Satisfied Jerry user
RECOMMENDED
Haven’t shopped for insurance in the last six months? There might be hundreds $$$ in savings waiting for you.
avatar
Judith switched to Progressive
icon savingsSaved $725 annually
avatar
Alexander switched to Travelers
icon savingsSaved $834 annually
avatar
Annie switched to Nationwide
icon savingsSaved $668 annually

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

√
No long forms
√
No spam or unwanted phone calls
√
Quotes from top insurance companies
Find insurance savings — it's 100% free