Nevada Car Accident Laws

Find out what you need to know about Nevada car accident laws and why having great car insurance is so important.
Written by Amber Reed
Reviewed by Kathleen Flear
background
Car accident laws in
Nevada
require you to stop, render aid if needed, and provide information to the other drivers and law enforcement. If the accident was not investigated by a law enforcement officer, then you may be required to notify the
Nevada DMV
.  
Even if it’s just a minor fender bender, a car accident is a traumatic experience. In the heat of the moment, it can be difficult to make good decisions—or know what to do at all. 
But
Jerry
, the top-rated
car insurance
app, has your back! Read on to find out what you need to know about Nevada car accident laws and how to find cheap car insurance in Nevada.
Are you overpaying for your car insurance?
Compare quotes and find out in 45 seconds.
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms · No fees
icon4.717k Ratings
5M+Drivers Joined
7M+Cars Garaged

What to do after a crash: Nevada car accident reporting laws

The first thing you want to do after any car accident
is to make sure that everyone in your car is safe and uninjured. Call 911 immediately if anyone needs medical or emergency assistance. 
Next, in Nevada, you are required to move your vehicle to a safe location out of the way of traffic (provided that’s possible). 
Then, document the crash as thoroughly as you can—take lots of pictures and make some notes while things are still fresh in your mind. Make sure you exchange information with the other drivers involved, too — a lack of documentation could get your claim denied.
You may also need to report the accident to the following entities: 
  • The police
  • The DMV
  • Your insurance company 
Let’s take a more in-depth look at the sections of Nevada car accident laws that address accident reporting. 

When to report an accident to the police

If you’re in an accident that results in bodily injury, death, or property damage of more than $750, Nevada law requires you to report it to the appropriate authorities right away. Additionally, if a driver is known or suspected to be under the influence of drugs or alcohol, you must notify law enforcement. 
Here’s who to call:
  • If the accident happened on a public highway, you must contact the Nevada Highway Patrol
  • If the accident took place in a city, you should report it to the city’s police department
If police showed up at the scene of the accident, you won’t need to file a report. The officers who responded will do so. Make sure you get the report number, though, as you will likely need it to file an insurance claim

When to report an accident to the DMV

If the police don’t investigate the accident, then you are required to submit a report to the Nevada DMV within 10 days if it resulted in death, injury, or damages of more than $750. 
To report the accident, you’ll need to complete a
Nevada SR-1 form
and send it to the DMV (address on the form). There’s a lot of information that will need to be provided, including: 
  • Your name, address, and insurance information 
  • Your driver’s license number 
  • Your vehicle’s make, model, and VIN
  • Description of the crash
It’s important to note that if you are reporting any property damage or personal injuries, repair and medical documentation must be attached. Otherwise,the DMV will void the report

Financial responsibility and coverage minimums: Nevada’s insurance laws

What
insurance does Nevada require
, and what happens if you are caught without the proper insurance? 
Nevada requires all drivers to purchase liability insurance to drive legally. Policies must include the following minimum coverage limits:
Failure to meet the required minimums or to provide proof of insurance can carry some pretty severe consequences. Nevada uses a
tiered system to address penalties
for insurance violations. 
Depending on how many times you’ve been caught breaking the law and how long your coverage has lapsed, you could face: 
  • A fine of $250 to $1,750
  • A 30-day license suspension
  • An SR-22 requirement for future insurance 
Still, not every driver in Nevada purchases car insurance. In fact, a 2019 study by the
Insurance Information Institute
found that about 10.4% of Nevada drivers don’t have car insurance at all. 
Being involved in an accident with an uninsured or underinsured driver can add another layer of unpleasantness to an already bad situation and may impact your ability to receive compensation for damages or injuries. That’s why it’s a good idea to carry
uninsured/underinsured motorist protection
to reduce your burden in this scenario. 

Claiming damages after an accident: Nevada’s personal injury laws

Depending on the circumstances of an accident, you may want to go beyond an insurance claim and file a personal injury lawsuit to collect damages. Under Nevada law, you have the right to claim both economic and non-economic damages associated with a car accident. 
  • Economic damages include medical bills, lost wages, lost employment or business opportunities, loss of use of property, burial expenses
  • Non-economic damages include pain and suffering, mental suffering, inconvenience, humiliation
Additionally,
Nevada Revised Statute 42.010
states that if damages were caused by a defendant who was willfully driving while impaired, then you can seek additional damages “for the sake of example and by way of punishing the defendant.” 
NRS 42.005
also applies this to defendants who were found to be guilty of “conduct which is intended to injure a person or despicable conduct which is engaged in with a conscious disregard of the rights or safety of others.”
In Nevada, there is a two-year statute of limitations on personal injury claims stemming from a car accident. Damages being sought as means of punishing the defendant or setting an example are limited to $300,000 if the compensatory damages are less than $100,000 and three times the compensatory damages if over $100,000

Who’s to blame: Nevada’s modified comparative negligence law

A major concern for everyone in the event of a car accident is who is at fault, as this largely determines who has to pay for the damages. Nevada follows modified comparative negligence rules, which means that if one party holds the majority of the blame, then they are barred from recovering any damages
For example, let’s say Chris was turning left and collided with Mary, who was changing lanes in an intersection. Nevada has a 51% threshold for its modified comparative fault laws, so that means that if Chris was found to be 52% at fault and Mary was 48% to blame, only Mary could seek compensation—and then only for 52% of her damages. 
If there were multiple parties at fault and no one is more than 51% to blame, then each party can seek damages in proportion to their share of liability. 
A fair amount of states follow some kind of comparative negligence law. Because these laws vary by state, it’s important to know the rules where you are and where you might be headed. 

How to save money on car insurance in Nevada

Car accidents can have all sorts of nasty consequences, and one of them may be your
insurance premiums rising
. Depending on the circumstances, you could see a rate hike of anywhere from 35% to as much as 80%
But with
Jerry
on your side, you can rest assured knowing that you’re getting the lowest rate possible on your coverage—even after an accident. As a
licensed broker
, Jerry will quickly search rates from across more than 50 top providers to bring you the best of the bunch. 
No forms, no phone calls, no hassles—just the coverage you need at a price that fits your budget. The typical Jerry user saves over $800 a year on
car insurance
, which will surely make you feel like fortune has turned in your favor!
“My past tickets were making it hard to find affordable insurance. With
Jerry
, I went from paying $450/month to $273/month. They took care of everything—such a relief!” —Josephine R.
RECOMMENDED
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms
Find insurance savings
Are you overpaying for car insurance?
Compare quotes and find out in 45 seconds.
Try Jerry

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

√
No long forms
√
No spam or unwanted phone calls
√
Quotes from top insurance companies
Find insurance savings