How to Get a Nebraska Driver’s License Reinstatement

A Nebraska driver’s license reinstatement costs $50 to $125 and may require you to retake the driver’s tests and apply for a new license.
Written by Cameron Thiessen
Edited by Jessica Barrett
To get a Nebraska driver’s license reinstatement, you’ll need to pay a fee of $50 to $125. You may need to retake the driver’s tests and complete the application process for a new license.
  • Depending on the reason for the suspension, reinstating your driver’s license in Nebraska could cost anywhere from $50 to $125.
  • You will likely need an SR-22 certificate, which proves that you’ve met the minimum
    Nebraska car insurance
  • Drivers who meet certain criteria may be eligible for a restricted license, which permits driving to/from school, work, doctor’s appointments, and other essential destinations.

Why you might need a license reinstatement in Nebraska

Nebraska DMV
issues license suspensions and revocations for a wide range of offenses, including:
Most of the time, when your Nebraska driver’s license is suspended, you won’t automatically regain your driving privileges when the suspension period runs out. The DMV requires drivers to submit paperwork and reinstatement fees to get back behind the wheel. 
You may not know if you need a license reinstatement. Luckily, you can
check the status of your Nebraska driver’s license online

How to get a license reinstatement in Nebraska

There are several possible requirements to reinstate a license in the state of Nebraska, depending on the nature of the suspension. In most cases, you’ll need to provide proof of insurance (using an
SR-22 from your insurance company
) along with a reinstatement fee of $50 or $125. 
In more severe cases, you may also need to complete a driver’s education course or retake a driver’s test.

Insurance law violations, accidents, and child support suspensions

If your license was suspended for an insurance law violation, an accident, or a child support suspension, you’ll need to clear the suspension by paying:
  • $50 reinstatement fee
  • Additional court fines if convicted of a crime
You can submit your suspended license reinstatement fee payment in person or by mail to:
Nebraska Department of Motor Vehicles
Financial Responsibility Division
301 Centennial Mall South
P.O. Box 94877
Lincoln, Nebraska 68509-4877
You can also pay online through the
NE DMV website
. Remember that further driver’s education requirements may be involved.

Driving record points, court-ordered, and BAC test/failure suspensions

The reinstatement fee is $125 if your license suspension was:
  • Court-ordered
  • Due to point violations
  • Issued because of a failure of or refusal to take a BAC test
The process for clearing the suspension remains otherwise the same as described above. Additional requirements are more likely, such as a driver improvement course.


If you received a driver’s license revocation, you can apply for reinstatement after the expiration of the revocation period. Follow the same procedure as described above. 
You’ll have to retake all of the driver’s tests and reapply for a new license.

How to get a restricted license in Nebraska

Nebraska allows drivers with certain suspensions to apply for restricted licenses so that they can drive to school, work, doctor’s appointments, or other essential destinations. 
Your eligibility for a restricted license depends on the reason for your suspended license. 
This restricted license would allow you to drive to and from authorized locations or with an ignition interlock device installed in your vehicle. Note that you may need to satisfy reinstatement requirements before being eligible.

Employment driving permit

You could be eligible for an employment driving permit if your driver's license was suspended or revoked due to excess driving record points or violation of a support order.
To apply, you'll need to:

Medical hardship permit

You can request a medical hardship permit if your license was revoked or suspended for excess driving record points but you still need to drive to attend medical appointments.
To apply, you’ll need:
If your driver's license was suspended/revoked for failing or refusing to take a BAC test, you may be eligible for an ignition interlock restricted license. 
To apply, check your eligibility on the
NE DMV website
or call (402) 471-3985. Then, you’ll need to complete an
Application for Nebraska Ignition Interlock Permit (IIP)
If your application is approved, you'll need to visit your local NE DMV office with proof of your identity, date of birth, and address, along with a payment for the $47.50 IIP fee.
really just saved me $954 on my new car insurance payment. I’m feeling great!” —Irene M.
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms
Find insurance savings
Are you overpaying for car insurance?
Compare quotes and find out in 45 seconds.
Try Jerry

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

No long forms
No spam or unwanted phone calls
Quotes from top insurance companies
Find insurance savings