Car Seat Laws in Nebraska

Find out if you’re getting ripped off on your car insurance in less than two minutes.
No long forms · No spam · No fees
  • What is it?
  • Noncompliance
  • Driving record
  • Insurance impacts
  • Cheap insurance
Car seat laws in Nebraska primarily cover children up the age of 8, but there are legal requirements for their safety until they reach the age of 18. The laws defer to manufacturer guidelines for restraint systems, but also keep the NHTSA’s recommendations in mind.
Jerry has compiled everything you need to know to adhere to Nebraska’s car seat laws, so learn more by reading on:
RECOMMENDED
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms · No fees, ever

What is the car seat law in Nebraska?

Nebraska’s laws stipulate that every child up to the age of eight must be secured in a federally-approved child safety seat when traveling in a moving car, and they must ride in the back seat.
In addition, children under the age of two must ride in a rear-facing car seat, or at least until they reach the upper height or weight limit of their car seat as outlined by the manufacturer.
After the age of 8, children and teens up to the age of 18 must wear a seatbelt.
Key Takeaway Children must ride in the back seat until they are 8 years old.

What are the penalties for breaking the car seat law in Nebraska?

If you break the car seat laws in Nebraska, you will be fined $25, which may not be much, but you will also incur one point on your license.

Can breaking the car seat law impact my driving record?

Violating Nebraska’s car seat law will earn you one point on your license, and the violation will show up on your driving record.
Accumulating too many points in a given period may result in your license being suspended.
RECOMMENDED
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms · No fees, ever

How breaking car seat laws can impact insurance in Nebraska

Breaking the car seat law in Nebraska will show up on your driving record, which is what car insurance carriers look at when they determine your car insurance rates.
More citations signal to carriers that you are a high-risk driver, and as a result, your premiums may be higher, and carriers may even refuse to insure you.
Key Takeaway Breaking the car seat law in Nebraska will show up on your driving record, which might impact your insurance rates.

Finding cheap car insurance

Even if you have a less than perfect driving record, cheap car insurance is still within reach. Literally. Just reach over and grab your phone, and call up Jerry to help!
Jerry is a licensed brokerage app that lives and works on your phone, comparison-shopping rates and delivering the best options and prices. You don’t need a perfect driving record to save money with Jerry on your side.
“My favorite thing about this app is that you can really specifically tailor a custom car insurance plan and quickly see which company will offer that for the lowest price. In one evening I found the exact car insurance plan I wanted for literally over $100 less per month than my previous policy, (and both policies were from big names).” - Satisfied Jerry user
RECOMMENDED
Haven’t shopped for insurance in the last six months? There might be hundreds $$$ in savings waiting for you.
avatar
Judith switched to Progressive
icon savingsSaved $725 annually
avatar
Alexander switched to Travelers
icon savingsSaved $834 annually
avatar
Annie switched to Nationwide
icon savingsSaved $668 annually

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

√
No long forms
√
No spam or unwanted phone calls
√
Quotes from top insurance companies
Find insurance savings — it's 100% free