Nebraska Car Insurance Laws—All You Need to Know

Find out if you’re getting ripped off on your car insurance in less than two minutes.
No long forms · No spam · No fees
  • Minimum requirements
  • Limits
  • Is minimum enough?
  • No insurance penalties
  • Optional coverage
  • Buying insurance
  • FAQs
Nebraska law mandates that all drivers have liability coverage and uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage before they get behind the wheel.
Having the right amount of car insurance isn’t just about staying in compliance with the law. Getting into an accident without sufficient insurance coverage can spell trouble, both for your car and for your finances.
Thankfully, getting cheap car insurance is easy with the licensed broker and comparison app Jerry. Jerry compiles quotes from 40+ top providers and then takes care of everything for you, from setting up your new policy to canceling your old one.
Here’s everything you need to know about Nebraska car insurance laws.
RECOMMENDED
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms · No fees, ever
Find savings (100% Free)

Car insurance requirements in Nebraska

Nebraska law requires drivers to have both liability coverage and uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage.
Minimum liability coverage: 25/50/25Uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage
$25,000 bodily injury per person$25,000 bodily injury per person
$50,000 bodily injury per accident$50,000 bodily injury per accident
$25,000 property damage per accident

Liability coverage in Nebraska

Liability coverage pays for damages and medical expenses for other drivers if you’re the at-fault driver in a collision.
The minimum liability coverage requirements in Nebraska follow a 25/50/25 pattern, meaning you must have at least:
  • $25,000 in bodily injury coverage per person
  • $50,000 in bodily injury coverage per accident
  • $25,000 in property damage coverage per accident
Liability coverage does not cover your own damages or medical expenses when you’re at fault in an accident, so you’ll definitely want to purchase additional coverage. Personal injury protection (PIP), for example, pays for your damage and medical bills after an at-fault collision.

Uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage in Nebraska

Uninsured/underinsured covers your medical expenses if you’re in a collision with an at-fault driver who doesn’t have insurance.
The minimum uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage requirements in Nebraska are as follows:
  • $25,000 in bodily injury coverage per person
  • $50,000 in bodily injury coverage per accident
Key Takeaway Nebraska law requires all drivers to have 25/50/25 liability coverage and 25/50 uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage.
RECOMMENDED
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms · No fees, ever
Find savings (100% Free)

State-mandated car insurance limits

A car insurance “limit” is the maximum amount of coverage your provider will give you in a particular coverage category. A state-mandated car insurance limit is a legally required minimum that you must have with your insurance provider.

State-mandated limits for liability coverage in Nebraska

  • $25,000 in bodily injury coverage per person means that your insurance provider will contribute no more than $25,000 in bodily injury coverage per person in an accident where you are at fault
  • $50,000 in bodily injury coverage per accident means that your insurance provider will contribute no more than $50,000 in bodily injury coverage in total per accident in an accident where you are at fault
  • $25,000 in property damage coverage per accident means that your insurance provider will contribute no more than $25,000 in property damage coverage per accident in an accident where you are at fault

State-mandated limits for uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage in Nebraska

  • $25,000 in bodily injury coverage per person means that your insurance provider will contribute no more than $25,000 in bodily injury coverage per person for you and/or other passengers if you were in an accident with an uninsured or underinsured at-fault driver.
  • $50,000 in bodily injury coverage per accident means that your insurance provider will contribute no more than $50,000 in bodily injury coverage in total per accident for you and/or other passengers if you were in an accident with an uninsured or underinsured at-fault driver
If you want more coverage than the state-mandated limits, you can purchase higher limits with your insurance provider. This helps ensure that you’ll never be responsible for costs out of pocket.

Do Nebraska’s required insurance minimums provide enough coverage?

Nebraska’s state-mandated car insurance minimums are comparable to most other states. But, in general, carrying the minimum amount of car insurance coverage isn’t a great idea as it’s easy to quickly exhaust your limits. If you cause a collision that results in one or two hospitalizations, for instance, you can quickly hit the $50,000 bodily injury liability limit.
Remember: once you’ve hit your limits, you will be liable for any remaining expenses. We suggest purchasing higher insurance limits. This will typically look like a slightly higher monthly premium, but it could mean saving thousands of dollars if you ever get into a bad collision.
Key Takeaway While Nebraska’s state-mandated limits are comparable to other states, they could be easily reached after an accident. Higher limits are a good idea to offer greater protection.
RECOMMENDED
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms · No fees, ever
Find savings (100% Free)

Penalties for driving without insurance in Nebraska

Driving without car insurance is illegal in Nebraska. Nebraska holds a few penalties for driving without proof of insurance:
  • Minimum $50 fine
  • Temporary license suspension (until you show proof of insurance)
  • SR-22 filing requirement
On top of these legal penalties, driving without insurance has huge financial consequences. If you get into an at-fault collision, you will be personally liable for damages and expenses, which could cost you tens of thousands of dollars.

Optional auto insurance coverage in Nebraska

  • Comprehensive coverage can cover the costs of physical damages to your vehicle that are not the result of a collision (e.g., vandalism)
  • Personal injury protection (PIP) covers your own damages and medical expenses when you are in a collision—regardless of who is at fault
  • Collision coverage can help you cover the cost of repairs for your vehicle after a collision with another vehicle or fixed object
  • Medical payments coverage covers the cost of medical bills or funeral expenses resulting from a collision
  • Roadside assistance helps with things like fixing flats, towing, or jumping batteries—the type of coverage will vary between companies
  • Rental car reimbursement will cover the cost of a rental vehicle while your car is being repaired after a claim

Where to buy car insurance in Nebraska

Looking to buy car insurance in Nebraska? Jerry is here to help.
Jerry is a car insurance comparison and broker app that does all the work of comparison shopping for you—so you can find the lowest rates possible for your car insurance.
In addition to finding you cheap rates for great coverage, Jerry takes care of the calls and paperwork for your new policy and cancels your old one. No overpaying and no hassles.
“Using Jerry was quick and easy, and I’m going to save $850 a year with the same coverage limits!” —Jerry user

FAQs

Is car insurance required in Nebraska?

Yes. All Nebraska drivers must have liability coverage following a 25/50/25 pattern and uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage following a 25/50 pattern.

How long do you have to get insurance after buying a used car in Nebraska?

When buying a new car in Nebraska, there is a grace period of 2 to 30 days for getting car insurance. You’ll probably need to show proof of insurance to a dealer to drive the car off the lot, though.
This may not be the case for a used car—especially if you’re buying from a private seller. Regardless, you should buy car insurance as soon as possible after purchasing a car—and you should never drive in Nebraska without car insurance.
RECOMMENDED
Haven’t shopped for insurance in the last six months? There might be hundreds $$$ in savings waiting for you.
avatar
Judith switched to Progressive
icon savingsSaved $725 annually
avatar
Alexander switched to Travelers
icon savingsSaved $834 annually
avatar
Annie switched to Nationwide
icon savingsSaved $668 annually

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

√
No long forms
√
No spam or unwanted phone calls
√
Quotes from top insurance companies