Car Seat Laws in Missouri

Find out if you’re getting ripped off on your car insurance in less than two minutes.
No long forms · No spam · No fees
  • What is it?
  • Noncompliance
  • Driving record
  • Insurance impacts
  • Cheap insurance
Missouri car seat laws stipulate that children under four years old must be secured in a child restraint system that meets the manufacturer’s specifications.
As children grow, the car seat laws change, but all children are required to be secured in a booster seat or car seat until they’re 4’9”.
Breaking seat belt laws can lead to fines or an increase in insurance premiums—not to mention the potential safety risks. Luckily, car insurance comparison and broker app Jerry has compiled everything you need to know about Missouri car seat laws.
Read on to learn more about car seat laws in Missouri.
RECOMMENDED
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms · No fees, ever

What is the car seat law in Missouri?

Passengers under four years old who weigh less than 40 pounds should be secured in an approved child safety seat. The car seat must have a label indicating that it meets federal car seat safety regulations. It must also be manufacturer-approved.
There aren’t any specific rules regarding front or rear-facing seats, though it’s recommended that children stay in rear-facing seats until they grow out of them.
Once a kid reaches 40 pounds, they can transition to a booster seat. They should ride in a booster seat until they reach 80 pounds or 4’9”.
The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) recommends that children under the age of 12 ride in the back seat.
Key Takeaway Kids need to ride in child safety seats until the age of four and after that, they need to use a booster seat until they weigh 80 pounds.

What are the penalties for breaking the car seat law in Missouri?

Breaking car seat laws in Missouri will lead to a $50 fine and you’ll be expected to cover any resulting court costs.
You can have this fine waived if you purchase an approved car seat and present proof of installation.
A seatbelt violation will set you back $10.
RECOMMENDED
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms · No fees, ever

Can breaking the car seat law impact my driving record?

Probably not. Violating a seat belt law is considered a minor infraction in Missouri, so you won’t see any points added to your driving record.
Still, the citation will appear on your record and insurers will likely consider it when calculating your premiums. If minor violations start to add up, you will be considered a high-risk driver.
Also, keep in mind that every time you fail to secure your child properly, you’re putting their life at risk.
Key Takeaway Violating Missouri’s car seat laws won’t earn you any points on your record, but make sure you follow them to protect the children in your car.

How breaking car seat laws can impact insurance in Missouri

Since you won’t accrue any points on your license, it’s unlikely that your premiums will go up if you break car seat laws in Missouri—especially if it’s your only violation.
However, if you continue to make mistakes, the tiny infractions can add up. The more violations you rack up, the bigger risk you are to insurers. If that happens, you can expect your premiums to rise.
Additionally, if you don’t pay the $50 fine, your credit score could take a hit. In some states, that can lead to an insurance hike.

Finding cheap car insurance

Whether you’re a perfectly safe driver or have some blemishes on your record, it’s important to have the best car insurance for you. To find the best option, try Jerry.
A licensed broker, Jerry does all the hard work of finding the cheapest quotes from the top name-brand insurance companies and buying new car insurance. Jerry will even cancel your old policy for you.
And to ensure you always have the lowest rate, Jerry will send you new quotes every time your policy comes up for renewal, so you’re always getting the coverage you want at the best price. This level of service is why Jerry earned a 4.6/5 rating on the App Store and made it the top insurance app in the country.
“It’s as easy as the snap of your finger, and it’s done! The agency is wonderful and you don’t get bothered by emails or phone calls unless you call them, and I called them to ask a few questions and the agent I talked with was nice and helpful. It’s so easy, try it! Thank you, Jerry and your agent!!”—Satisfied Jerry user
RECOMMENDED
Haven’t shopped for insurance in the last six months? There might be hundreds $$$ in savings waiting for you.
avatar
Judith switched to Progressive
icon savingsSaved $725 annually
avatar
Alexander switched to Travelers
icon savingsSaved $834 annually
avatar
Annie switched to Nationwide
icon savingsSaved $668 annually

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

√
No long forms
√
No spam or unwanted phone calls
√
Quotes from top insurance companies
Find insurance savings — it's 100% free