Car Seat Laws in Mississippi

Find out if you’re getting ripped off on your car insurance in less than two minutes.
No long forms · No spam · No fees
  • What is it?
  • Noncompliance
  • Driving record
  • Insurance impacts
  • Cheap insurance
Car seat laws in Mississippi specify that a child should be in a car seat, then a booster seat based on height and weight until the age of seven. The details on both defer to recommendations by the American Academy of Pediatrics and the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA). That being said, there are penalties in Mississippi for securing a child in a restraint system that is the incorrect size.
Mississippi car seat laws are designed to protect children from bodily harm in the event of an accident. That’s why the car insurance broker and comparison shopping app Jerry has compiled everything you need to know to adhere to Mississippi’s car seat laws.
RECOMMENDED
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms · No fees, ever

What is the car seat law in Mississippi?

Mississippi car seat laws have specific guidelines regarding car seats and booster seats.
Mississippi’s car seat laws break down as follows:
  • Children under the age of four must be secured in a child restraint system that complies with federal motor vehicle safety standards. This can be a rear-facing only or front-facing only car seat depending on their size, or a convertible car seat.
  • Children at least four to seven years old who weigh fewer than 65 pounds and are shorter than 4’9” must use an appropriate booster seat.
The details on both defer to recommendations by the American Academy of Pediatrics and the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA).
Key Takeaway Children under the age of seven are required to be secured in the appropriate restraint system for their size and age.

What are the penalties for breaking the car seat law in Mississippi?

Violating car seat laws in Mississippi will result in a fine of $25 per child out of compliance, per incident.

Can breaking the car seat law impact my driving record?

Citations for breaking car seat laws in Mississippi do not incur any points on your driving record. The citations will also not appear on your record.
RECOMMENDED
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms · No fees, ever

How breaking car seat laws can impact insurance in Mississippi

A violation of a car seat law in Mississippi will not show up on your driving record. As a result, your insurance premiums will likely not be affected.
Key Takeaway Car seat law violations will not impact your car insurance rates in Mississippi.

Finding cheap car insurance

Finding cheap car insurance can be quick and simple, no matter what your record looks like. If you’re ready to save some money, Jerry is here to serve.
All you have to do is put in a few details about your driving history and your car, and Jerry shops around for the best policies for you. As a licensed broker, Jerry can even finalize your policy and paperwork, and if needed, cancel your old policy for you.
“After more than 11 years with one insurance provider and our rates increasing each year (through no fault of ours, they said), we had to look for a cost-savings alternative. Thankfully, we found Jerry. Not only were we able to find another reputable company that would provide the same exact coverage for an annual savings of over $2000, but they made the switching process incredibly easy!” - Satisfied Jerry user
RECOMMENDED
Haven’t shopped for insurance in the last six months? There might be hundreds $$$ in savings waiting for you.
avatar
Judith switched to Progressive
icon savingsSaved $725 annually
avatar
Alexander switched to Travelers
icon savingsSaved $834 annually
avatar
Annie switched to Nationwide
icon savingsSaved $668 annually

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

√
No long forms
√
No spam or unwanted phone calls
√
Quotes from top insurance companies
Find insurance savings — it's 100% free