How to Get a Minnesota License Reinstatement

To reinstate your Minnesota driver’s license, you must pay a fee and satisfy any court orders. The exact process depends on your violation.
Written by Sophie Boka
Edited by Bellina Gaskey
Reviewed by Georgina Grant
To get a license reinstatement in
, you have to wait out your suspension period, fulfill any court orders, and pay the applicable fines plus a driver’s license reinstatement fee.
  • You’ll need to go through the license reinstatement process in Minnesota if your driver’s license is suspended or revoked.
  • Your reinstatement will cost money—and the worse the offense, the more you’ll have to pay.
  • If you’re still in your suspension period, you may be able to get a hardship license to drive for essential events.

How to get a license reinstatement in Minnesota

Once your class D drivers license is eligible for restoration, you will receive a letter from the Minnesota DVS explaining the steps that you will need to take to have your license reinstated. 
Most of the time, the process is simple:
  • Wait out the full suspension period
  • Fulfill any court orders
  • Pay all fines
  • Pay a driver’s license reinstatement fee
If you are unsure of your driver’s license status, you can easily check it online through the
Minnesota DPS website
. Go to “Driver Services” > “More Driver Services” > “Driver’s License Status Lookup” and plug in your license number.

Pay your reinstatement fee

Whether your license has been restricted, suspended, or revoked, you’ll need to pay a reinstatement fee. In Minnesota, the price depends on your offense.
  • Suspension due to a criminal offense or substance use: Your reinstatement fee will likely cost $680
  • Suspension due to another offense: Your reinstatement fee will likely cost $20
You can choose to pay the fee in person, by check, money order, or
If you choose to pay your fee by check or money order, you can mail it to this address:
Driver and Vehicle Services
445 Minnesota St. Suite 168
St. Paul, Minnesota 55101

Why you might need a license reinstatement in Minnesota

Minnesota Department of Public Safety Driver and Vehicle Services division
can recall your driving privileges for a variety of reasons, ranging from too many moving violations to causing a fatality in your motor vehicle.
The court will ultimately rule whether your license will be suspended or revoked.

License suspensions

If you have to get your license reinstated, you’ve most likely had a
suspended or revoked license
in Minnesota. This means that you’ll lose your driving privilege for a period of time and be able to regain them once that period is up. 
Here are some common violations that can lead to license suspension: 
  • Too many moving violations 
  • Driving without a license or with a suspended license
  • Reckless driving
  • Driving without insurance
  • School bus violations
  • Physical or psychological disqualification (you are unable to drive safely due to a physical or mental condition)
  • Vehicular homicide (you kill someone with your car)

License revocations

If a court has your MN driver’s license revoked, you’ll be required to submit to an investigation before you can get a new license. This process often takes longer than reinstating a suspended license. 
Some of the most common violations that lead to a revoked license include:
  • Driving under the influence
  • Exceeding 100mph
  • Performing a felony in your vehicle
  • Perjury or false vehicle statements
  • Fleeing the scene of an accident

Driving under the influence

Driving while intoxicated (DWI) in Minnesota
can result in a revoked license, but your suspension period can vary greatly. Your penalty is based on the specifics of your offense, including:
  • Your blood alcohol content (BAC) level
  • Number of passengers in your vehicle
  • Injuries
  • Past offenses
If you were pulled over and refused to take a BAC test, your license could be placed under administrative suspension for 90 days. 
You can request a hearing to fight this penalty—but this suspension can be given regardless of whether you’re found guilty of a DUI. 
Keep in mind: In addition to a license suspension, you may face jail time or have to install an ignition interlock device in your vehicle after a DWI conviction.

Some drivers may qualify for a hardship license

You may be eligible for a hardship license depending on your situation. This is a limited license that permits you to drive in specific situations during your suspension period. 
These rules can be quite specific, sometimes limiting you to driving at certain times of the day or under specific traffic conditions.
You may be a candidate for a hardship license if you need to drive to:
  • Go to work
  • Go to school
  • Receive medical treatment
  • Attend chemical dependency treatment or counseling
  • Take care of dependents in your household
If you think you qualify, you can apply 15 days after your original suspension date. For more information about hardship licenses, call (651) 296-6911.

Minnesota Driver Diversion Program (DDP)

The state of Minnesota is fairly understanding when it comes to financial hardship. That’s why it developed the
Driver Diversion Program
, which supports drivers with paying fees and completing any requirements for reinstating their license. 
Through the DDP, you may have the opportunity to develop payment plans, take part in training, and acquire insurance. Most drivers can qualify for the DDP, but to stay in the program you must not accrue any additional violations.
To learn more about the program, you can contact
Diversion Solutions
"When I started shopping for insurance for my new car, the estimates I received were around $150.
found me full-coverage insurance for $102. This is NOT a joke!” —Auden D.
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms
Find insurance savings
Are you overpaying for car insurance?
Compare quotes and find out in 45 seconds.
Try Jerry

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

No long forms
No spam or unwanted phone calls
Quotes from top insurance companies
Find insurance savings