How to Get a Michigan Driver’s License Reinstatement

Find out if you're getting ripped off on your car insurance in less than two minutes.
No long forms · No spam · No fees
Jerry partners with more than 50 insurance companies, but our content is independently researched, written, and fact-checked by our team of editors and agents. We aren’t paid for reviews or other content.
In most instances, getting your driver’s license reinstated in
requires that you wait for the suspension period to end and pay a reinstatement fee. However, some suspensions are more complex than this and may require that you work through the issue with more than one state agency. 
No one plans to lose their driver’s license. But if you do end up in that situation, you’re probably wondering how to get it back as soon as possible. Depending on the offense, your license could be suspended indefinitely—but in most cases, it takes 180 days to get it reinstated. 
Let Jerry find your price in only 45 seconds
No spam · No long forms · No fees
Find insurance savings

Why you might need a license reinstatement in Michigan

There are a number of reasons why your license could be suspended or revoked by the
Michigan Secretary of State (SOS)
. Operating a vehicle under the influence of drugs/alcohol and failing to appear in court are common offenses resulting in a
suspended license in Michigan
Often, once the suspension period ends, you will still have restrictions placed on your license. Once you pay the required fees, the restricted license will allow you to drive, but only to and from work, school, community service, or drug and alcohol treatment centers. In certain cases, there will be an indefinite suspension period for offenses like failing to appear in court or not having proof of car insurance. 
If you need to check your license status or find out if you need it reinstated in Michigan, you can do that on the

How to get a license reinstatement in Michigan

To get your
Michigan driver’s license
reinstated, you’ll need to make sure you have paid all fines, including the $125
reinstatement fee
. It is also possible that you will have to schedule a hearing from the SOS by submitting a
Request for Hearing Form
If you are charged with an operating while intoxicated (OWI) offense, your license will be suspended. The penalty includes a 30 day suspension period where you cannot drive at all, a 150 day restricted license period, and after that, a $125 reinstatement fee. 
If your BAC was .17 or higher at the time of your OWI offense, this is considered a high BAC OWI, and there are more penalties. With this offense, you will not be allowed to drive for 45 days, and before you can get a restricted license, you must install a Breath Alcohol Ignition Interlock Device (BAIID) in your vehicle. 
After 10.5 months of using the BAIID and complying with the restricted driving rules, you’ll pay the $125 fee and be able to get your license reinstated.

Point suspensions

If your license accumulates 12 or more points you will need to have a driver’s license reexamination. It is not guaranteed that the Secretary of State will suspend your license if you have 12 or more points on your license, but there will be a $45 reinstatement fee if they do.

Court suspensions

Failing to appear in court will put you at risk of having your license suspended. 28 days after the missed court date, you will receive a notice warning you of the penalties and urging you to resolve the issue. You will have 14 days to appear in court. Otherwise, the Secretary of State will be notified, and your license will be suspended immediately and indefinitely. 


If you have multiple or more severe offenses, the Secretary of State could revoke your license. You will have to apply for a driver’s license restoration hearing by making a request to the Office of Hearings and Administrative Oversight with the Secretary of State. After that, what is required of you will depend on the offenses on your record. The fee to reinstate a revoked license in Michigan is $125
Key Takeaway For most cases, your license will be reinstated as long as you pay all the necessary fees and take care of any court-related issues. 

How to get a hardship license in Michigan

Having your right to drive taken from you is a stressful situation for multiple reasons. Luckily, you may have the option to apply for a
Michigan hardship license
if you have extenuating circumstances where the license suspension takes a major toll on you or your family. 
You will not be able to obtain a hardship license if you have 24 or more points on your license or your license was suspended due to refusing a chemical test. You can find additional exemptions from a hardship license on the
Michigan Secretary of State's website
. If you do not fall under those categories, you can apply for a restoration appeal through the
Circuit Court
Use the
State Court Administrative Office’s
approved form petitions to submit your restoration appeal. The petition can be filed with your local Secretary of State unless it is an implied-consent appeal, in which case it should be filed in the county where you were arrested. 

When can you apply for a hardship license?

If you are not granted a restricted driver’s license at your restoration appeal, you can file an appeal with the circuit court. This essentially gives you a second shot at proving your need for a driver’s license. 
The appeal must be filed within 63 days from the final decision made by the Secretary of State. If you have an extenuating circumstance, the court may grant you up to 182 days to file the appeal. 

What is an SR-22 certificate?

In Michigan, drivers with serious violations on their record may be required to carry an SR-22 certificate. This is sometimes referred to as “SR-22 insurance” although its main purpose is to prove that you comply with Michigan’s minimum liability insurance laws. 
The following violations may require you to obtain a
Michigan SR-22 certificate
You will be able to purchase the certificate through your insurance provider and will have to pay a small fee. From there, your insurance premium will be increased significantly
“My speeding ticket raised my insurance to $310/month.
got me full comprehensive coverage on two vehicles for $144/month through Progressive. I definitely recommend giving them a try.” —Brandon D.
Thousands of customers saved on average $887/year on their car insurance with Jerry
This app is great, but the customer service is even better! Not to mention convenient! My husband and I got the lowest rate (much lower than the rates I was finding online through my own searches), quickly, and pretty much all through text message! Thank you so much for a hassle free experience👍
Gabriella R.
Find insurance savings
rating primary
4.7/5 Rating on App Store
By Kate Kirby
Expert Insurance Writer
Reviewed by Kathleen Flear.
Compare Car Insurance Quotes For Free
Jerry automatically shops for your insurance before every renewal. Members save $872/year.
rating primary
Rating on App Store
Start saving money!
12,000+ Reviews
Trusted by 3.5M car owners like you

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

No long forms
No spam or unwanted phone calls
Quotes from top insurance companies
Find insurance savings