Why you can trust Jerry
Jerry partners with some of the companies we write about. However, our content is written and reviewed by an independent team of editors and licensed insurance agents, and never influenced by our partnerships. Learn more baout how we make money, review our editorial standards, reference out data methodology, or view a list of our partners
Michigan car seat laws require that children under the age of eight must use an appropriate child restraint system that is covered by the Child Passenger Protection Act. Children under four must sit in a rear seat whenever possible.
Breaking car seat laws could earn you fines, along with putting young passengers in danger.
That’s why the car insurance broker and comparison shopping app Jerry has compiled everything you need to know to adhere to the car seat laws in Michigan.
What is the car seat law in Michigan?
Children under eight years old—or less than 4 feet 9 inches—must use a federally approved child restraint system.
Michigan child car seat laws say that children younger than four years old should be secured in a rear seat if possible. The only exception is if the back seat is full of other children under the age of four, in which case the child may ride in the front seat in a car seat.
Car seat laws in Michigan do not offer any guidelines about where in the car children between four and eight should sit. However, experts recommend that children use a booster seat in the back seat for as long as possible under the manufacturer’s guidelines.
Key Takeaway Children under the age of eight need to ride in a federally approved child restraint system.
What are the penalties for breaking the car seat law in Michigan?
It’s considered a civil infraction to break the car seat law in Michigan. You will be charged a $65 fine, a $10 fee for administrative costs, and a $40 justice system assessment fee.
Key Takeaway Breaking the car seat law in Michigan will earn you a $65 fine for violating Michigan car seat laws and an additional $10+$45 for court costs and assessment fees.
Can breaking the car seat law impact my driving record?
You will not get points added to your record if you break the Michigan car seat laws.
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms · No fees, ever
How breaking car seat laws can impact insurance in Michigan
If you do not immediately pay the fees for a car seat law infraction in Michigan, it could negatively impact your credit score. In Michigan, it’s legal for car insurance companies to consider your credit score when calculating your premium.
The lower your credit is, the higher your payment might be.
Tickets also appear on your driver abstract, which your insurance company may have access to. That means if you rack up lots of tickets, it could potentially impact your insurance premiums (not for the better).
Finding cheap car insurance
If you want to save money on car insurance, the Jerry app is a good place to start. A licensed broker, Jerry does all the hard work of finding the cheapest quotes from the top name-brand insurance companies and buying new car insurance. Jerry will even cancel your old policy for you.
And to ensure you always have the lowest rate, Jerry will send you new quotes every time your policy comes up for renewal, so you’re always getting the coverage you want at the best price. This level of service is why Jerry earned a 4.6/5 rating on the App Store and made it the top insurance app in the country.
"So blown away at how easy this process was! I was quoted for half what I was paying and I even added coverage for roadside assistance." - Jerry User
Haven’t shopped for insurance in the last six months? There might be hundreds $$$ in savings waiting for you.
Judith switched to Progressive
Saved $725 annually
Alexander switched to Travelers
Saved $834 annually
Annie switched to Nationwide
Saved $668 annually