How to Get a Massachusetts Driver’s License Reinstatement

A Massachusetts driver’s license reinstatement generally costs between $100 and $1,200, depending on the violation.
Written by Kate Kirby
Reviewed by Kathleen Flear
Most of the time, getting your driver’s license reinstated in
requires that you pay a fee and, in some cases, take a driver improvement course. But this process can vary from person to person, depending on the violation. 
Being without your license can be a huge headache—and because of that, you’re probably wondering how to get it back quickly. Generally, as long as you wait for your
license suspension
period to end, pay the associated fees, and take a driver's improvement course (if required), you’ll be able to get back on the road without too much hassle. 
In Massachusetts, it costs between $100 and $1,200 to have your license reinstated. This wide range in cost comes with a wide range of requirements. It can get confusing, but
car insurance
comparison app
is here to break down all that you need to know about a license reinstatement.
Let Jerry find your price in only 45 seconds
No spam · No long forms · No fees
Find insurance savings

Why you might need a license reinstatement in Massachusetts

There are many reasons why the Massachusetts Registry of Motor Vehicles (RMV) will suspend or revoke your license. Offenses such as
driving under the influence (DUI)
or excessive
driver's license points
commonly land people a suspended license. 
After your suspension period is up, there are often more requirements to meet before you get full driving privileges back. You’ll need to
check the status of your license
to find out what those requirements are and pay a fee.

How to get a license reinstatement in Massachusetts 

Most of the time, the process of getting your Massachusetts license reinstated includes checking the status of your license, completing an application, and paying a reinstatement fee between $100 and $1,200 with the potential need to complete a
driver improvement course
A DUI offense could result in your license getting suspended for anywhere from one year to indefinitely. The penalty depends on the severity of the charge and the number of offenses on your record. You may be required to complete a drug or alcohol counseling program before you can apply for a reinstated license. 
The fee can be paid in person at the RMV branch office or mailed to the following address (payable to RMV): 
Registry of Motor Vehicles PO Box 55896 Boston, MA 02205-5896

Point suspensions

Your license will be suspended in Massachusetts for the following reasons related to moving violations:
  • If you accumulate three speeding tickets within a one-year period.
  • If you accumulate seven surchargeable points within a three-year period.
  • If you commit three major traffic violations or 12 violations within five years. This is considered a habitual violation, and your license will be revoked.
To have your Massachusetts license reinstated, you’ll need to submit an application to your local
RMV Service Center
—or, if you have met all the requirements, you can pay the fees online. 


If your driver’s license is revoked, you will need to reapply for a new license. According to
Massachusetts General Laws, Chapter 90, Section 3
, to reapply, you’ll have to re-take all of the necessary exams and pay a fee between $100 and $1,200.
Key Takeaway: The process for getting your license reinstated usually includes checking the status of your license, paying any associated fees, and in some cases, taking a driver’s improvement course. 

How to get a hardship license in Massachusetts

Being without a license can put a huge strain on your ability to get to work, school, and other essential places. To account for this, Massachusetts allows people to apply for a hardship license, which will grant some driving privileges—but not all.
If your license was suspended due to a drug or alcohol offense or because you are a habitual offender, you might be eligible for a hardship license. You can find out if you’re eligible by answering a series of questions on the
Massachusetts government website
Once you’ve been approved to apply, you’ll need to schedule a hearing at a select RMV location and gather all necessary documents to meet with your hearings officer. At the hearing, you’ll present your case, and a decision will be made at the discretion of the RMV. If you’re approved for the hardship license, there will be a reinstatement fee between $100 and $1,200.  

When can you apply for a hardship license?

Your specific offense and circumstance will determine when you can apply for a hardship license. Below are the criteria for when you can apply depending on the offense: 

What is an SR-22 certificate?

In Massachusetts,
filing an SR-22 certificate
is not mandatory; however, you might need one if you committed a serious offense in another state. This certificate proves that you have purchased the minimum liability insurance and is necessary if the state where the offense took place requires it. 
To obtain an , you’ll need to find an insurance provider that will file one. Thankfully, the Massachusetts Automobile Burea legally requires insurance companies to file SR-22 certificates if they are requested. 
Once it’s filed, you’ll pay a fee and wait for it to be approved. From there, it is likely that your insurance premium will increase drastically. 

How to save money on car insurance in Massachusetts 

If you’re up against a license suspension or SR-22 certificate,
finding a cheap car insurance rate
might be difficult—but it's not impossible! By
comparing quotes
from multiple providers, you’ll be able to find a policy that works best for you. And you won’t even have to do the hard work of sorting through all the options.
Jerry will do that for you! Jerry is an
insurance comparison app
that shops for low prices with dozens of different insurance companies for free. You will get quotes in seconds, can make changes at any time, and if you ever have any questions, agents are just a text away!
“I have a really bad record, so all of my previous insurance quotes were pretty high. I started using
and the fantastic app saved me $130 a month on my insurance.” —Jett A.
Thousands of customers saved on average $887/year on their car insurance with Jerry
This app is great, but the customer service is even better! Not to mention convenient! My husband and I got the lowest rate (much lower than the rates I was finding online through my own searches), quickly, and pretty much all through text message! Thank you so much for a hassle free experience👍
Gabriella R.
Find insurance savings
rating primary
4.7/5 Rating on App Store
Are you overpaying for car insurance?
Compare quotes and find out in 45 seconds.
Try Jerry

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

No long forms
No spam or unwanted phone calls
Quotes from top insurance companies
Find insurance savings