Car Seat Laws in Louisiana

Find out if you’re getting ripped off on your car insurance in less than two minutes.
No long forms · No spam · No fees
  • Louisiana
  • Noncompliance
  • Driving record
  • Insurance impacts
  • Cheap insurance
Car seat laws in Louisiana apply to children up to the age of 18.
Violating Louisiana car seat laws will result in steep fines, so it’s important to understand how Louisiana’s laws apply to different age groups. Doing so will also keep child passengers protected from any bodily harm in the event of an accident.
That’s why the car insurance broker and comparison shopping app Jerry has compiled everything you need to know to adhere to Louisiana’s car seat laws.
RECOMMENDED
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms · No fees, ever

What is the car seat law in Louisiana?

If your child is under the age of 13, they are legally required to sit in the back seat of your car. This is to mitigate potential injuries they could sustain from your car’s airbag system, which is more dangerous to children.
Newborns and young children under 24 months of age must be secured in a compliant, rear-facing or convertible car seat. Children in this age group must be seated in the rear-facing position until they reach the appropriate age or weight as recommended by the car seat’s manufacturer.
Children between two and four years of age can sit face-forward in car seats with appropriate internal harnessing systems.
Children between one year old (or 20 pounds) and at least five years old (or 40 pounds) must be in a forward-facing car seat with a harness.
Children between the ages of four and nine must use a booster seat. These seats need to be used in conjunction with lap and shoulder safety belts.
Children between the ages of nine and thirteen may wear a seatbelt as long as they are of the appropriate height and weight. They are, however, legally required to sit in the back seat.
Teenagers between the ages of 14 and 18 may sit in the front seat of a car. They need to wear a seat belt.
Key Takeaway Children are required to be secured in a moving vehicle from when they are newborns until they are 18 years old.

What are the penalties for breaking the car seat law in Louisiana?

If you’re found driving with a passenger under the age of 18 who is not properly secured in the car per Louisiana’s car seat laws, you will be fined $100 for the first offense.
A second offense will result in a $250 fine, and the third will result in a $500 fine.
If your child is restrained, but in the wrong system for their age or size, you will be fined $100.

Can breaking the car seat law impact my driving record?

No, in the state of Louisiana, driving with an unsecured or improperly secured child is not considered a moving violation and it does incur any points on your driving record.
However, if you’re pulled over for a moving violation, i.e., speeding or texting while driving, noncompliance with these car seat laws will be considered a secondary offense.
RECOMMENDED
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms · No fees, ever

How breaking car seat laws can impact insurance in Louisiana

While breaking a car seat law is not considered a moveable offense in Louisiana, nor does it incur any points on your driving record, the citation does show up on your driving record and this might impact your insurance.
This is because your insurance company will consult your driving record when assessing your risk level as a driver. Having multiple citations on your record will signal to your insurance carrier that you are a high-risk driver and your premiums might increase as a result.
Key Takeaway Breaking Louisiana car seat laws might not earn you a point on your driving record, but it might still impact your insurance premium.

Finding cheap car insurance

Whether you’re a high-risk or low-risk driver, finding cheap car insurance is within reach — literally, because Jerry is a licensed brokerage app that lives on your phone and does all the work for you.
Just give Jerry a few details and let it do the rest. Best of all, Jerry never stops working on your behalf—when your policy is up for renewal, Jerry will send you updated rates and coverage plans that can save you money.
“Finding insurance that is affordable these days is hard to find, but I want to assure anyone that there is one who is reliable and that one insurance company is Jerry. Just download the app and fill in all your information and someone will be there to help you with the final quote. Thanks to Jerry’s team.” - Satisfied Jerry user
RECOMMENDED
Haven’t shopped for insurance in the last six months? There might be hundreds $$$ in savings waiting for you.
avatar
Judith switched to Progressive
icon savingsSaved $725 annually
avatar
Alexander switched to Travelers
icon savingsSaved $834 annually
avatar
Annie switched to Nationwide
icon savingsSaved $668 annually

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

√
No long forms
√
No spam or unwanted phone calls
√
Quotes from top insurance companies
Find insurance savings — it's 100% free