Kansas Restricted License

Kansas restricted licenses apply to young drivers or those with a suspended license.
Written by Rob Shapiro
Edited by Amy Bobinger
Reviewed by Kathleen Flear
Kansas restricted licenses allow new drivers and those who’ve committed certain violations operate a motor vehicle under limited circumstances. 
  • You can apply for a restricted license in Kansas if you’re at least 15 and younger than 16. You’ll need parental approval.
  • If your Kansas driver’s license has been suspended, you may also be approved for a restricted license that allows you to drive to and from work, school, and a few other essential places.
  • Your restricted license will come with regulations that govern when and where you’re allowed to drive a car.

What is a restricted license in Kansas?

In Kansas, two groups of people are eligible for restricted licenses:
  • New young drivers: Drivers at a minimum age of 15 and younger than 16 have restrictions on their licenses to gain experience safely. 
  • Suspended driver’s license: If you commit a violation that results in your license being suspended, you can apply for a restricted license. This will allow you to drive to and from work/school or to programs like drug/alcohol counseling. 

How to get a Kansas learner’s permit

The first step to becoming a licensed driver in Kansas is to get your learner’s permit, which will have restrictions. 
There is a simple process to apply for a Kansas learner’s permit. Just follow these steps:
  • You can apply when you’re 14. You’ll need to first pass a written test to assess your knowledge of traffic laws and safe driving practices.
  • Get approval from your parent or guardian if you are younger than 16.
  • Show proof of Kansas residency.
  • Pay the mandatory fees: a $20 permit fee, $8 photo fee, and $3 testing fee.
  • Pass a vision test.
If you meet these requirements, you should be approved for a Kansas learner’s permit. You’ll be able to operate a car during certain hours of driving, often under adult supervision. 
Did you know: To take a driver’s education course in Kansas, you’ll need a separate permit—a DE-99 instruction permit.

Restrictions on a Kansas learner’s permit

If you receive your learner's permit you will have to drive with certain restrictions. The goal is to keep young drivers safe as they gain the experience to drive alone and in every situation. 
The restrictions include:
  • You can only drive to and from school when school is in session. 
  • You can only take the most direct and accessible route to your address and to your school for the purpose of attending classes or school functions.
  • You can drive anytime or anywhere with a licensed adult in the front seat who is at least 21 years old.
  • You can not use any wireless communication except to report illegal activity or to call for emergency help.
  • You can not have any non-sibling minors as passengers.
Additionally, you must have a state-issued instruction permit for at least one year.

What is a Kansas suspended license and its restrictions?

There are several driving violations that can get your driver’s license suspended, including:
  • Driving under the influence of alcohol and/or drugs (
  • Driving without a license or if your license is suspended
  • You were involved in a car accident that resulted in the death of another party
  • If you caused an accident and then fled the scene (
    hit and run
  • You have unpaid fines and/or court fees
You are not legally allowed to drive in Kansas with a suspended license. But many people need their car to make a living or to get their education. You can’t just stop going to school or work!
What you can do is apply for a restricted driver’s license. Approved drivers can only do the following:
  • Drive to and from work and/or school
  • Drive to and from drug and/or alcohol counseling
  • Drive to and from a healthcare appointment or if a medical emergency occurs
  • Drive somewhere required by a court
Most restricted licenses allow for up to 12 months to pay off fines or court fees. The fee for a restricted license in Kansas is $25, and it must be accompanied by an
application to modify suspension
, sent to the Kansas department of revenue.
“Just for state minimum liability, I was getting quotes from $70 to over $100/month until I found
. Now my car insurance is under $30/month, or $140 for 6 months. Thank you, Jerry!” —Frank S.
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms
Find insurance savings
Are you overpaying for car insurance?
Compare quotes and find out in 45 seconds.
Try Jerry

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

No long forms
No spam or unwanted phone calls
Quotes from top insurance companies
Find insurance savings