How to Get an Indiana License Reinstatement

To reinstate your Indiana driver’s license, follow the steps outlined by the BMV or the court that ordered your suspension and pay the reinstatement fee.
Written by Pat Roache
Edited by Georgina Grant
Reviewed by Jessica Barrett
To reinstate your
driver’s license, you’ll need to check your driving record, pay the reinstatement fee, and follow the other steps outlined by the BMV or the court that ordered your suspension.
  • The reinstatement fee is $250 for your first driver’s license suspension, $500 for a second, and $1,000 for any following suspensions.
  • You can often avoid paying a fine—or even avoid the suspension altogether—by providing an SR-22 certificate through your
    Indiana car insurance
  • You may be able to apply for a hardship license while your regular driver’s license is suspended.

How Indiana license reinstatements work

If the Indiana Bureau of Motor Vehicles (IN BMV) revokes or
suspends your license
for an offense, you’ll have to reinstate your license to regain your driving privileges. This doesn’t happen automatically when your suspension period ends. 
Instead, you’ll have to submit paperwork and pay reinstatement fees to complete the process.

How to get a license reinstatement in Indiana

Check your Viewable
Driver Record
on the
BMV’s website
at no charge to be sure why your license was suspended or revoked in the first place and what is required for reinstatement. 
Pay close attention to the “Reinstatement Requirements” and “Suspensions Information” sections for the most relevant information.
Although the reinstatement process will differ depending on the reason for your
Indiana driver’s license
suspension, here’s a general overview of the process: 
  • Court-ordered suspension: Contact the court to find out the exact requirements you’ll need to meet to get your license reinstated. Only go to the BMV to reinstate your license once you have documentation from the court to verify your eligibility.
  • BMV suspension: Review your Official Driving Record (ODR) to find out the exact requirements you’ll need to meet to get your license reinstated. You can view your ODR by completing a
    Request for Certified Records (State Form 53789)
    and submitting a $4 fee to the BMV.
  • Suspension for lack of insurance: You can have your suspension removed once you meet
    Indiana’s minimum insurance requirements
    . Have your insurance company provide a Certificate of Compliance (COC) to the BMV to finalize the fulfillment of your requirements.

Indiana license reinstatement fees

Here are the BMV license reinstatement fees: 
  • First suspension: $250
  • Second suspension: $500
  • Future suspensions: $1,000
You may be able to avoid paying fees if you
file an SR-22
with the BMV for 180 consecutive days.
Providing an SR-22, which serves as proof of financial responsibility, may also allow you to stay a suspension of your license from the court or BMV, depending on the specific requirements outlined on your order. 
If you choose to pay reinstatement fees over SR-22 coverage, you can do so by one of the following means:
  • Log into your
    myBMV account
    and pay online
  • Call 888-692-6841 and provide the access code found on your reinstatement notice
  • Submit the reinstatement coupon found in your reinstatement notice by mail
  • Download a Reinstatement Fee Submission Form if you no longer have your reinstatement coupon
  • Use a self-service Connect kiosk at your local BMV

How to get a hardship license in Indiana

Transportation can become a significant challenge for drivers with a suspended license, but you can apply for a hardship license to accommodate specific needs. With a hardship license, you’ll have certain restricted driving privileges to get to and from authorized locations like school and work.
To get a hardship license, you’ll need to file a hardship license petition in the county where your case originated or the county where you reside (depending on the origin of your suspension). You can process your filing in person at the county clerk or
All applicants have to pay a $157 filing fee and submit an
Initiating Party Appearance form
with one additional copy. 
All pleadings must be on 8.5” by 11” paper, and applicants should include a stamped self-addressed envelope for return copies. Other required documents will depend on the type of violation that caused your suspension in the first place.

Applying for a hardship license after a civil infraction

If the BMV suspends your license for a non-criminal violation, such as failing to pay a traffic ticket or insufficient
car insurance
, you’ll have a much easier time filing your hardship license petition. 
Here are the types of documents and numbers of copies you’ll need to include in your file:
  • Service of complaint: one copy per defendant served
  • Court’s file: original and one copy
  • Attorney’s file or pro se file: one copy
  • Initiating Party Appearance form
    : original and one copy
Contact your local county clerk, your attorney, or check the
guides on e-filing
if you need help identifying and getting a hold of these required documents.
MORE: How long does a speeding ticket stay on your record?

Applying for a hardship license after a criminal infraction

If your license is suspended for a serious moving violation that is charged as a misdemeanor or felony, you’ll have to supply much more documentation while filing your hardship license petition. 
Here are the documents and number of copies you’ll need to include in your file:
  • Service of summons by a sheriff or certified mail: original and three copies of the summons, two copies of all papers signed by the judge, and one copy of any motions or pleadings served with the summons (6+ total documents)
  • Court’s file: original copy of all pleadings with additional copies as required by the specific court
  • Attorney’s file or pro se file: one copy
  • Initiating Party Appearance form: original and one copy
If you want to file for a hardship license while you are currently a defendant in a court case or on probation for
driving while intoxicated
/DUI, or if you have lost your driving privileges under Indiana Code S. 35-48-4-15, you will have to file directly through the circuit court or superior court where your case is being or was tried. 

What is an SR-22 certificate?

Indiana SR-22 certificate
provides legal proof of future financial responsibility and is a common requirement when reinstating a suspended license in the Hoosier State. 
You’re likely to be required to submit an SR-22 after a license suspension for the following offenses:
  • Failure to provide
    proof of insurance
  • Failure to appear in court or pay a fine
  • Certain convicted court-related violations 
You can request an SR-22 certificate from your insurance provider, who will electronically submit the proof of your insurance directly to the BMV. You’ll often need to maintain your SR-22 insurance for 180 consecutive days to enjoy the fee-wavering and suspension-lifting effects of the certificate.
It may sound easy, but be warned: filing for an SR-22 will cause a massive increase in your insurance rates.
“I have a really bad record, so all of my previous insurance quotes were pretty high. I started using
and the fantastic app saved me $130 a month on my insurance.” —Jett A.
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms
Find insurance savings
Are you overpaying for car insurance?
Compare quotes and find out in 45 seconds.
Try Jerry

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

No long forms
No spam or unwanted phone calls
Quotes from top insurance companies
Find insurance savings