How to Get an Oklahoma Driver’s License Reinstatement

To get your Oklahoma driver’s license reinstated, you must wait out the suspension period and pay your reinstatement fee to OK DPS.
Written by Holden Easterbrook
Edited by R.E. Fulton
To get your driving privileges back after a license suspension,
drivers must wait out the suspension period before paying a reinstatement fee.
  • Wait until your license suspension period is up before applying to the Oklahoma Department of Public Safety for a reinstatement.
  • If your license was suspended for a drug- or alcohol-related offense, you’ll need to complete an assessment.
  • Some high-risk drivers need an SR-22 certificate from their
    Oklahoma car insurance
    company to get their driving privileges back. 

How to get a license reinstatement in Oklahoma

In most cases, the requirements for an
Oklahoma driver’s license
reinstatement include: 
  • Waiting out your full suspension or revocation period
  • Paying a fine to the Oklahoma Department of Public Safety (DPS) in the form of a cashier’s check or money order
  • Filing an SR-22 certificate as proof of financial responsibility, if applicable 
  • Completing a drug or alcohol assessment, if applicable
Pro tip: A driver’s license revocation is more serious than a suspension. Revocations often come with jail time and misdemeanor or felony charges, depending on the offense. 

Driving record points reinstatement

Your license can be suspended in Oklahoma
if you accrue 10 or more traffic violation points on your driving record. Your license suspension period will be either one month, three months, six months, or 12 months.
To have your license reinstated after a point-related suspension, you’ll need to:
  • Serve out the suspension period
  • Pay a fee of $50 to OK DPS
  • Appear before a DPS Compliance Hearing Officer for an administrative hearing (applies only to cases of 6- or 12-month suspensions)
Conviction-related reinstatements have a few categories of their own, all with specific requirements. However, some general steps will be the same in all situations.
To have your license reinstated after a conviction, you must:
  • Surrender your driver’s license or permit to OK DPS: Find the steps for doing this in the Notice of Suspension mailed to you.
  • Serve out the suspension period: Depending on the conviction, this period can be anywhere from a few months to a few years. 
  • Pay your fee: A full guide to
    reinstatement fees
    can be found on the DPS website. 
To have your motor vehicle license reinstated after a conviction for
driving under the influence in Oklahoma
, you must:
  • Surrender your driver’s license or permit to OK DPS: The steps for doing so can be found in the Notice of Suspension mailed to you. 
  • Serve out the suspension period: The suspension period is 180 days for a first offense, one year for a second offense, and three years or more for subsequent offenses. 
  • Pay a $315-$365 fee to OK DPS: The exact cost of the fee will depend on whether an ignition interlock device is a part of your reinstatement conditions. 
  • Complete a state-approved alcohol/drug assessment: Look at a
    list of approved assessors

How to get a provisional driver’s license in Oklahoma

If you’ve served your suspension period but are unable to pay the reinstatement fee, there’s no need to worry. 
The OK DPS has a program for drivers to make minimum monthly payments of $25 toward their outstanding reinstatement fees to repay their debt to society while still being able to use their vehicle in a limited capacity.
However, you cannot qualify for this program if your license revocation was due to:
  • Manslaughter/negligent homicide while driving
  • Refusal of BAC test or failed blood test

When can you apply for a provisional license?

You can apply for a modified driver’s license in the state of Oklahoma once you meet the following requirements:
  • Eligible for full reinstatement of driving privileges
  • Have an unexpired driver’s license
  • Have
    proof of insurance
    that meets state minimums
  • Obtain a photo ID card in Oklahoma
  • Pay an enrollment fee of $50 to OK DPS in addition to the first monthly minimum payment of $25

How to check your driver’s license status in Oklahoma

If you need clarification on your current Oklahoma driver’s license status, you can see if it’s suspended or revoked by checking out the OK DPS’s
official website
for more information. 
You can also call the following numbers between 8:00 AM and 4:30 PM with any questions you may have about your driving privileges.
  • Oklahoma City: (405) 425-2059
  • Tulsa: (918) 632-7710
“My past tickets were making it hard to find affordable insurance. With
, I went from paying $450/month to $273/month. They took care of everything—such a relief!” —Josephine R.
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms
Find insurance savings
Are you overpaying for car insurance?
Compare quotes and find out in 45 seconds.
Try Jerry

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

No long forms
No spam or unwanted phone calls
Quotes from top insurance companies
Find insurance savings