How to Get a Vermont Driver’s License Reinstatement

You can get your Vermont driver’s license reinstated for $82, but the procedure can take weeks or years depending on the original offense.
Written by Amber Reed
Reviewed by Kathleen Flear
background
If you lost your license in Vermont, getting it back can be easy—you may simply have to pay an overdue fine or submit some paperwork to the DMV. But for serious violations, you won’t get your driving privileges back until your suspension term ends, and you might even need to retake the road test.
Losing your license can make life tough, so your top priority is probably figuring out how to get your driving privileges back. If the offense that caused your suspension was minor, you can usually resume driving within a matter of days if you pay your reinstatement fee. But in the case of more serious violations, license reinstatement regulations vary depending on what state you live in.
If you live in Vermont, it costs $82 to get your driving privileges back after a suspension, but the steps you need to take depend on your offense. Figuring out exactly what you need to do can be overwhelming. That’s why
car insurance
comparison shopping genius and licensed broker
Jerry
created this guide to getting your license reinstated (and reducing your
Vermont car insurance costs
).
Compare quotes from 50+ insurers with Jerry in under 45 seconds?
icon4.7/5 rating on the App Store | Trusted by 5+ million customers and 7 million cars
icon4.7/5 app rating | Trusted by 5M+ drivers

Why you might need a license reinstatement in Vermont

There are a number of reasons why the
Vermont Department of Motor Vehicles
might issue a license suspension. You could have your license suspended for relatively minor offenses, like driving without
proof of insurance
, or major ones, like driving under the influence (
DUI
).
If your license is suspended in Vermont, you won’t automatically get it back at the end of your suspension term. You’ll need to submit paperwork and pay a reinstatement fee before you can legally get behind the wheel.
If you aren’t sure whether or not you need a license reinstatement, or just want to check the status of your Vermont driver's license, you can call the DMV at (802) 828-2000.

How to get a license reinstatement in Vermont

The exact requirements for getting your license reinstated in Vermont depend on the offense that caused you to get your license suspended in the first place. In most cases, however, you will need to submit some documentation and pay the $82 reinstatement fee.

Unpaid traffic tickets

If your license was suspended for a failure to pay a traffic ticket, you can clear your suspension simply by paying the outstanding charge through the Vermont court’s
online pay system
and
paying your reinstatement fee
through the DMV. If you don’t want to pay online, you can pay in person at the Montpelier DMV office or mail your reinstatement fee to:
Vermont DMV
120 State Street
Montpelier, VT 05603-0001
ATTN: Driver Improvement 
If you choose to mail in your reinstatement fee, you must include a paper that states you are paying your reinstatement fee with your full name, date of birth, and current mailing address.

Revocations

If your driving privileges have been terminated completely due to a DUI, you may qualify for a
total abstinence license reinstatement
through the DMV. To qualify for total abstinence license reinstatement, you must provide proof that you have been drug- and alcohol-free for three years, and proof that you have successfully completed a substance abuse treatment program.
Key Takeaway In most cases you can get your Vermont driving privileges back once you pay any unpaid fines and the reinstatement fee. However, the exact steps you need to take depend on your specific violation.

Can I get a hardship license in Vermont?

Vermont law does not offer a
hardship license
or limited license for drivers under suspension terms. You must complete all required reinstatement requirements before you can get your driving privileges back in Vermont.

What is the Driving with License Suspended Program?

The
Driving with License Suspended Program
is available through the Vermont civil court system to help people get their driving privileges back while they pay off outstanding fines. Depending on your financial situation, this program may reduce your debt or allow you to participate in a community service program in exchange for reduced fines. Program participants work with a member of the Vermont diversion staff to create a payment plan or contract that must be approved by the Vermont Judicial Bureau.

What is an SR-22 certificate?

Vermont requires some drivers with suspensions—usually those considered high-risk drivers based on their violations—to carry an
SR-22
certificate. An SR-22 certificate represents legal proof that you’ve met Vermont’s minimum insurance requirements—you can file for one through your insurance company.  
You might be required to purchase
a Vermont SR-22 certificate
if your license was suspended for one of the following violations:
  • Driving under the influence
  • Repeated traffic violations
  • Driving without car insurance
  • An at-fault accident
  • Driving with a suspended license
You’ll only pay a small fee when you file, but carrying an SR-22 almost always causes your insurance premium to increase.

How to save money on car insurance in Vermont

You might have a spotty Vermont driving record due to a license suspension or SR-22 filing, but that doesn’t mean you shouldn’t look for affordable car insurance. Just download the
Jerry
app for help switching policies or adding coverage after a license suspension. 
So how does it work? Once you answer a couple of set-up questions, it’ll take less than 45 seconds for our
trustworthy comparison shopping super app
to collect all of your information from your existing insurer. Choose from competitive quotes from top insurance companies and Jerry takes care of the rest—securing your new policy and helping you cancel your old one upon request. 
No long forms. No calling around. No hard work. Just savings. The average Jerry user saves $887 a year on car insurance.
“My past tickets were making it hard to find affordable insurance. With
Jerry
, I went from paying $450/month to $273/month. They took care of everything—such a relief!” —Josephine R.
RECOMMENDED
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms
Find insurance savings
Are you overpaying for car insurance?
Compare quotes and find out in 45 seconds.
Try Jerry

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

√
No long forms
√
No spam or unwanted phone calls
√
Quotes from top insurance companies
Find insurance savings